Moving To Steemit.com

in #antares6 years ago (edited)

I have mentioned this before but didn’t get round to it as I was busy with “life” and hadn’t fully made my mind up.

I am going to be closing this blog down and redirecting the domain name to my Steemit blog. There are a number of reasons for this Privacy and Censorship:-

  • Censorship

You would have to be living under a rock to not be aware of all the de-platforming and censorship that is taking place on mainstream social media platforms. Censorship and de-platforming is on the rise. If you hold opinions that are considered “right” on the political spectrum or simply views that do not align with the Lame stream media and the government, then you run the risk of being de-platformed or censored. This is much easier to do if you run your own website on a private domain as “leftie” NPC protestors or nefarious government actors only have to go after your website host and they can kick you off.

Moving to a blockchain based censorship resistant social platform like Steemit.com makes this much less likely to happen. Although I don’t espouse or encourage violence or outright hatred, I do find myself more on the political right.

  • Privacy

Hosting your own domain makes it easier for nefarious parties to find out your real identity and so using a decentralised blockchain based social media platform makes that much harder.

My two domains antaresonwheels.uk and antares-scorpius.co.uk will shortly be directing to my steemit blog. I will then be moving much of that content over to Steemit bit by bit over the coming weeks.