Anthony Bourdain

in #anthony6 years ago

Anthony Bourdain took his own life yesterday. Suicide by hanging.

I never watched "Parts Unknown," or any of his other programs.

I care very little about celebrity chefs or professional cooking shows.

So, I didn't exactly weep at the news.

And yet, I must feel just a little sense of sadness about it.

It's not just suicide, that's bad. Of course, I've known people who have taken their lives. I've even contemplated the Big Exit more than a few times myself. Maybe one day I'll talk about it. Obviously, I'm here, and I'm writing, so it's no longer on the menu.

So why am I sad about Bourdain's death?

He did me a favor I can't repay.

Not me specifically, of course, but a favor nonetheless.

Killing himself preempted CNN's regular brainwashing, especially the dumbest man on TV, Don Lemon.

And that there, my friends, improved my mental health.

Sort:  

was it a sexual motivated accident like th death of Curt Cobain or the INXS Singer Mike Hutchense ?