Not a bitcoin, but so precious

in #antique7 years ago

Today, I was rearranging some jewelry, when I came upon this antique gold coin. Each time I see it I get fascinated with its history. It was the currency used in India, at the time of British rule. Most coins have the face of, King George IV, but the rarer ones are those with Queen Victoria's face. Too bad I don't have that one.

IMG_3792.JPG]()

IMG_3789.JPG

Each time I hold it, it makes me feel like a royal princess, carrying a velvet pouch full of gold coins, to tip the lesser mortals! Lol! And that too when all I have his, one picky little coin. :) Jokes apart, this coin is so very precious, but not for it's gold value. Its value lies in the history it represents. My great-great grandmother, when fleeing Pakistan at the time of the partition, managed to carry 22 of these gold coins, on her person. And that is what makes them so special to me.

Unfortunately, with time those 22 coins dwindled down to maybe 2 or 3, some were traded for money to survive, others were used in family weddings. I'm just lucky that there was still one left, when I got married 5 years ago. These coins are called GINNIE and have been passed down the generations. I finally got mine as a gift from my mother, on my wedding . I have kept it safely, for its small thing, with a lot of sentimental value attached to it, and more importantly, it is a beautiful reminder of my roots, from which I have come.

Do you also have any such piece of history, that is close to your heart? Feel free to share in the comments below!