Attempting to control my thoughts

in #anxiety6 years ago

If your able to control your thoughts you can control your reality. I read "As a Man Thinketh" -James Allen and it shaped my opinion of thoughts and reality. I enjoy the concept of thought manifestation. This book confirmed my idea that impure thoughts shape reality just as much as pure thoughts. This would take the blame for your shitty situation off of anyone but yourself. I often blamed poverty, childhood, really anything I could for my misfortune. This book opened my mind to the fact that I could actually be the master of my own destiny. I was raised religious. Prior to reading this novel I thought hardships were punishments from an invisible God. I also thought God put you through test in order to measure your faith. I never imagined in my youth that I was the pilot of my destiny. Many of my peers read "The Secret". It seemed that they found the recipe to escape misfortune by changing their wording. I took it a bit further and decided that thoughts had to align with words. My mind wanders and it is probably one of the harder things Ive attempted . I know the importance of my words and thoughts. Its just easy to complain and call it venting. Its easy to tell people off mentally when your too polite to do it verbally. I will keep trying.... Does anyone have any tips on controlling one's thoughts?