I was included (and want to leave) in HiveWatchers Blacklist – My apology

in #apology3 years ago (edited)
Anyone who knows me knows that I like to support the HIVE community, helping new Splinterlands players and doing an exhaustive job to explain to newbies how the game works, as well as the HIVE blockchain, all to make things easier for them.


For this reason, it is with great shame that I come to write this apology post for having acted in a way that contravenes the principles of communion that I preach.

In the last few weeks realizing that my HP (Hive Power) was idle, and driven by greed, I started to make brief comments that were not always sincere, and then vote with my account on my comments (as well as with another account that I have access: dosh)

In the last few days, I started receiving downvotes on these comments and I went to find out why, I was told it was because I was committing Farming, a type of abuse used by dishonest and malicious users.

The reason is obvious, by doing this one is acting selfishly and not contributing to the community, as these upvotes could be going to other people who deserve to strive to create good content, and thus strengthening the fraternity and the sense of help of the community.

Talking to @adamada who was very attentive, he told me:

"You're doing fine just the way you are, engaging with people and stuff.

If you want to burn your idle HP for more efficient curation rewards, you could always try subscribing to voting trails

There's a threshold meter set so it would only upvote until a set point is reached, this gives you some energy left to upvote who you want manually.

iI you are aware of this, following an active trail gives you more efficient reward returns while having the option to have an extra VP to reward who you think deserves it."

I intend to follow his suggestion and I promised not to act this way anymore, but the damage was already done and I had joined the Blacklist of the "spaminator", which punishes with downvotes people who practice Spam and Farming through comments.

Talking on the @hivewatchers Discord channel chat was recommended to me write this post and show my error. HiveWatchers is is a service that checks whether users are abusing or plagiarizing, and I believe that they are doing a great job.

Here is a print with the links of my comments in which I acted in an abusive manner and which received downvotes, I thought it was unnecessary to put the specific link for each of them, but I will do it by editing this text if necessary, and anyone who enters my page of comments can watch them because they are recent:

Screenshot_2021-03-14 marianaemilia Hive.png

I am extremely upset and ashamed that I have to go through this humiliation of writing an apology because I have always tried to be an example of the right person here in the community.


I make this mistake only for a brief time, and before that, I had never had this kind of behavior.

I fully understood the reason why what I did is not beneficial for the HIVE community and I promise never to make the same mistake again going forward.

On the contrary, I intend to strive and do everything possible and necessary that is within my reach, to make up for my lack.

Well, I like to think that negative things that happen to me can always teach me a positive lesson, which helps me to evolve and reach a better level.

My sincere apologies. @marianaemilia

Sort:  

Place wouldn't be the same without you, Mary :)
Its easy to be tempted to self-upvote. Ultimately most people who do it just start alts to do it. You haven't tried to hide it, which makes a big difference in my mind.
It's a grey area. For example, we have an Adelaide (my city) comment upvote bot @frogcake. It votes once a day, at full strength for 11 comments from Adelaide hivesters. Often that's me, and it's mostly my delegated HP; so is it a self upvote?
Lots of grey area. Don't be discouraged; you're doing great.

Well, thankfully, they quickly accepted my apology and I'm already free of this black list. :)

No worries! You do an AMAZING job for the Hive community and especially Splinterlands, as far as I can tell. Keep up the great work!

Thank you very much for your support

You are great and it is your way of greatness.
Stay Blessed

Thank you very much :)