It is art that will shift the planet. I truly believe that. It is art that bypasses ...

in #appics4 years ago

... the defense mechanisms of the logical mind.
It is art that reaches the quarantined parts of ourselves that we set aside long ago because they were too tender to feel.
It is art that allows us to see our strength portrayed in the heroic stories of others.
It is art that gives us permission to feel when society tells us to numb.
It is art that connects us to the human spirit even when we feel isolated from human beings.
It is art that reminds us to see the beauty in the mundane and the love underneath the pain.
It is art that will shift this planet.

This is why I do what I do. Take what I experience and find a way to turn it into art. The process is my own healing, learning to see the beauty in the experiences that break my heart. Seeking less and less to understand and more and more to simply feel. I see the impact it’s had to the rest of the world. So I keep going.

Yesterday I had 4 creations go out. My PERMISSION album, Limited Edition ceremony boxes, the “You Are Who You’ve Been Looking For” song on Spotify, and the music video for that song to FB/YT.

Today I’m in an emotional rollercoaster.

I feel pride for having created things I think are so good.
I feel fear that people may not like them.
I feel relief that this part of the journey is ending.
I feel sadness that this part of the journey is ending.
I feel judgment for the ways I feel like I didn’t show up fully.
I feel empowered by how hard I worked.
I feel exhausted from that work.
I feel inspired by new ideas that I’m having.
I feel hopeful that I have what it takes to create them.

This is part of being an artist. All the swirling emotions. I believe art is so powerful because it emerges from the courage it takes for an artist to feel so much, so deeply, and yet still choose to move forward.

So I honor every artist who continues to move forward. Thank you for inspiring us. And today especially I celebrate the artist I’ve become, for what I’ve created, and for the love I poured into it all. I did good.

I hope you like them.
If not, I’ll still create.

Because art will shift the planet.

aac9dc31ac3205b25e687385ca406cde

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

If knowledge is power, art is freedom 😊🙏🏼 great post!

Thank you!