I’m still learning to be an artist. I’m still exploring parts of my creative process ...

in #appics4 years ago

... that I feel frustrated by and continuing to push the boundaries of what I think is possible for myself. Because I know I can keep growing as a creator. And that process isn’t always easy.

Two days ago I spent hours writing only 16 lines of poetry. And I felt so proud of what I had written. I was thrilled. Then I spent nearly 45 minutes on the phone venting to my buddy Angus because I didn’t know what the next step was. Is it a poem? Is it a song? Where does it go from here? His advice: don’t worry about it, just keep going.

The process of creating art can be all-consuming because it’s about so much more than the art that’s being created. It’s about who I’m becoming along the way. It’s the understanding that ANYTHING I create will be birthed out of who I am. And since I’m constantly changing, the journey of my art is never the same.

So I am learning to let go of needing to know where it goes and simply enjoying the process of creating the art.

I think that’s what it means to be an artist.

9221599cf283de21d073fcc1ab5acad2

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this 🙏

You’re welcome. Thanks for the comment

I want this hat 😃😃😃

I love it too :)