Two large Wapiti or Elk (Cervus canadensis) in a fighting headlock with their antlers. ...

in #appics6 years ago (edited)

... Not quite as tall as Moose, the Elk in Jasper are protected from hunting and can be found up to 10 ft. (3 m) long from nose to tail weighing up to 450kg (990 lbs). Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada. Love Life, Love Photography

c635511abb92f3c4e28a6f23fd36db5e

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

I do Not like that comments on second Page

Which comment sorry ?

I mean that the comments are now on second page

Great Skills man! So nice!

Nature <3 beautiful photo :)

woww thats wonderful :) i like it.

Wow, Thats Amazing moment🙂👌

Sooo great!
Don't be amazed if someone pays you huge for this, to get it for their movie poster.

Thanks! I am not sure anyone pays a lot for photos anymore ;-)

Incredible shot. How did you get so close? Or did you zoom a lot?

Incredible shot.
How did you get so close? Or
Did you zoom a lot?

                 - phortun


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It is shot at 400mm. They were about 15m away .

Wow, still very close. You have some spectacular wildlife and natural photos on your blog, I think I will be a regular visitor :)

Thanks. Appreciate the support.

Hi @intrepidphotos!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.574 which ranks you at #1808 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 204 places in the last three days (old rank 2012).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 405 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

wow
nice find and timing !

such a beautiful image and scary... how big were they?

As big as I describe in the text.

You are the first person that has used the name Wapati. We lived in the high country of Colorado, and this was our horse’s name........... but it is spelled Wapiti 👍

Thanks for the spelling error pickup ! Wapiti is quite a common name up here in Canada. 'Elk' in Europe and Asia refers to a moose, so I prefer to use the term Wapiti as it is less ambiguous than Elk.

That said in NZ they are also called Wapiti and were introduced between 1870 and the 1920s (10 even were a gift from the American President Theodore Roosevelt) and over the years have cross bread with European Red Deer which was also released there. As a result in Australia (which is where I am from) Wapiti actually means Wapiti from NZ stock (that is often farmed in Australia) and we then use the term "Canadian Elk" to refer to the farmed Wapiti/Elk that has come from North American stock .

We always liked the name Wapiti, our horse looked like an Elk...

Yep it has a nice ring to it.

Brilliant shot!🎉🍸

I thought Just got my Sniper Very easy to put together, instructions was well written and easy to read. I put my own scope on because I'm a disable vet and my scope has a laser. It only took 5 shots to get to the center. I tried three more shots and they were center. Now I have to get more arrows because i had a ROBIN HOOD . Not complaining I never had a crossbow shoot this good. I will go hunting in the morning and will update on getting a deer

I prefer to see people shoot them with cameras than guns.