Balmoral Hotel 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, UK

Over 100 Years old this monument has seen some very famous people in it's time. Just around the corner from the Scott monument the Balmoral in Gaelic means 'majestic dwelling', it was opened as its most recent iteration of the hotel by Sean Connery in 1991.

BalmoralHotel.jpg

I took this photo in the late evening whilst waiting for a tour group to leave for the Scottish Highlands.

The building itself has a sense of place and feels very imposing, the latest refurbishment has made it true 5 star accomodation however it did not take away from its old charm character. It's little wonder that JK Rowling chose to finish the last of her original Harry Potter series novels Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows here. You can read a bit more about it and the inscription she left on a marble bust in her room now known as the JK Rowling Suite here just don't expect the room to be cheap!

The photo is a 10 second exposure at f/22 and 17mm shot on a consumer grade Nikon d7000 with a 17-55mm.

Please visit my instagram for more

Sort:  

Awesome pic man! I'm an OCD curator and I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Absolutely @elteamgordo and @ocd. I accept and thank you for your support!

@nikonmarshall Came here from your comment on my recent post. You have quite an eye for photography and one new follower! Keep up the fine work.

Thank you @dgiors look forward to hearing more from you too!

It looks so imposing, and yet historically beautiful.

Thanks for the bit of accompanying history you popped into the article, too. :)

It’s always cool to hear a bit of history about the subject in the photo, I’ve been keen to visit Scotland for some time now and this place looks and sounds like it’s worth a visit. Thanks for sharing, awesome image and blog here.

Nice, I like that building - makes me feel fuzzy :)

Me too, such an impressive building to see in person too

Yeah, I'm jelous. Please post more pictures if you have some :)

Wow, this is majestic! Im a big fan of the classic, i cant even imagine how people built that before. Thanks for sharing your shooting specs, very helpful.

My pleasure @funtraveller thanks for your comment

Hi @nikonmarshall,

I'm @joshua-golbuu, or Josh for short and I just joint @TeamAustralia / #TeamAustralia a few week ago (I moved from the islands of Micronesia to Australia to study and live here).

I just wanted to drop a note to say hello.

The photo you took is great that building really is beautiful.

I don't have many recent post because I just finish my last exam Friday, but I very much like to get to know everyone in our team. Hope we will meet on Steemit.

here is my re-intro with more details: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@joshua-golbuu/from-micronesia-to-australia-my-journey-re-introducing-myself-to-teamaustralia-and-to-everyone-in-steemit-after-my-exams

Peace ✌ & 💖 love!

Alpha V1.0
You can read more here

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Thursday.

You have earned 5.0 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5 (not yet working)
Multiplier: 1.0 (not yet working)

Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.00/130.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.0 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Created and sponsored by: @juliank

I somehow sense that I've been to this hotel before, maybe in a past life, or maybe because I used to visit Edinburgh as a kid quite often :/ hmmm

I like the idea of a past life, where are you going with that?

Beats me..maybe something to do with my tenuous Scottish heritage :) I can almost see Mel Gibson shouting...FREEDOM!

Honestly when I landed there it felt like I was going home too theres definitely some sort of connection. Must be the heritage!

This is such a beautiful and clean long exposure!