Get lost

in #architecture7 years ago (edited)

Thursday my husband was lucky enough to have so free time in the morning, he suggested we go for a drive so I could familiarise myself with our new country of residence. Driving in Dubai is a lovely experience with some of the highways having upto eight lanes. It would be an even better experience if our GPS or Google maps were upto date. It seems we live in an uncharted area of Dubai called Dubailand which I guess is a relatively new area that's been developed.

As Dubai has grown and developed rapidly we found ourselves driving in circles, diverting around a few blocks only to end up on the same road. U-turning instead of turning right. It was a mess, but sometimes the best way to learn about where you live is to go out and get lost because getting in getting lost you stumble upon the most beautiful places.

IMG_0323.JPG

I don't think I'll ever get bored of looking at this magnificent structure. It truly is a spectacular piece of architecture. I love the Burj Khalifa as much as I love the Chrysler Building in NYC.

IMG_0324.JPG

Sort:  

I'm a firm believer in getting lost. As you say you can find the most beautiful places that way.
This is a lovely post @nataliemk and the photos have a mystical quality to them. Very Arabian nights. tip!

Congratulations @nataliemk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!