You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Ardor really all that great?

in #ardor6 years ago

Which browser are you using? Have you tried again in the past couple days? Several weeks ago I couldn't use Bitshares either, but now it works fine. I use Chrome or Firefox. I don't really know anything about blocktrades -- I don't think I've ever set up an account with them.

Sort:  

Blisk, Chrome and Firefox.
Tried again less than 96 hours ago
The problem may involve my PC, but no one knows why.
Why do you avoid blocktrades?
They seem like the most honest and reliable exchange, at least out of centralized exchanges.
Only Bittrex may rival them.
Am I wrong?

Tried again less than 96 hours ago

Frustrating, sorry about that. Have you tried changing which node you're connecting to?

Why do you avoid blocktrades?

Because I've always found them to be very expensive. For example, right now if you pay 1 BTC you only get about 5700 BitUSD, but on OpenLedger 1 BTC gets you more like 6300 BitUSD. That's like a 10% fee.

Blocktrades is absolutely fantastic at what they do, and I've always been very happy when I've used them, but you pay for what you get.

Frustrating, sorry about that. Have you tried changing which node you're connecting to?

Yes, and it did not change the outcome.

10% transaction fee would be considered a ripoff in finance.
Good to know, but what are the fees in bittrex and bitshares for comparison?
What exchanges do you recommend and which ones do you use?
What is your opinion about binance?
What are their fees?

Most centralized exchanges charge a 0.25% fee or less; I believe this is true for Bittrex.

Bitshares fees are a little weird; you pay a tiny tiny fee for submitting and canceling orders, but on core assets you don't pay any fee on order completion. On OPEN.* and other gateway assets there's typically an additional percentage fee, and I've never seen more than 1% (most I think are about 0.25%).

I've never used Binance, I don't think, but I'd guess their fees are on the order of 0.25% like the others.

The exchanges I use most are Bitshares (OpenLedger), Bittrex, and Poloniex. Just depends on what I'm trying to do and who has what listed.

Why do you use poloniex after all of what they have done to their customers?
And good to know that bitshares is openledger, because I was going to ask about it.
I already read it before, but I feel better after seeing verifications.

after all of what they have done to their customers?

When they were new, someone stole a bunch of funds from polo and then polo took the hit instead of socializing the loss like others have done. So... that's pretty upstanding. What do you know that I don't know?

OpenLedger is a centralized exchange that puts their order books on the Bitshares blockchain. They're not actually the same organization.

I read frequent complaints about poloniex freezing customers' funds.
Can you justify it?
They may have been good when they were new, but at least since I joined here 9 months and 2 days ago they are bad.

Did the bitshares blockchain ever have any other purpose other than for decentralized exchange?

This comment has received a 23.30 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

This comment has received a 22.86 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

This comment has received a 15.86 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP