Serving in the South African Army 1988 - 1990

in #army6 years ago

Scan10025.JPG
Two great years of my life was serving in the South African Defense Force when I was younger. This I volunteered to do.
I had come from Zimbabwe and was now living in South Africa and there was a terrorist war going on.
I was living in Durban at the time.
The day I made my decision to do my Army service was a day when there was another bomb blast in Durban in a public place where civilians were killed. I felt that I had to do my part to fight terrorism. I never regretted it, sometimes the training was tough but all in all it was a growing experience with good solders. In those two years I visited the four corners of South Africa.
This photo was taken on the Zimbabwe border with the Limpopo River in the background, which was quite ironic as Zimbabwe was my country of birth and where my heart still is to this day. But terrorist were crossing into South Africa and planting land mines and some farmers had been killed.

Sort:  

Salute to you

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I salute all those who did the same and especially those who died fighting terrorisim and their families who remember them.