Model to Metaverse, My first Blender 3D model

Hello everyone! It's been a long time since I last posted and a lot has changed. I got into doing 3D design on Blender. I've been doing it for almost a year now and I've already done a few jobs for Decentraland as well as a few NFTs. I absolutely love Blender and I'm always amazed at what you can do with it. My main thing now is modeling things like wearables for Decentraland. I've only done a basic animation clip that was part of a course. There is so much still to learn.

Today I thought I'd share my first original 3D model called BitMech. I created this robot back in April 21 using the incredible Blender 3D design and animation software. I later deployed the model of my robot to my parcel of land in Decentraland just as a tester.

DCL1.jpg

The robot is actually pretty tall. My avatar is the same height as it's foot. I quickly realized the potential of all of this new technology. I wish I'd bought more than one parcel of land in that district!

DCL2.jpg

I'm considering doing a simple tutorial post featuring some of the basics. I might start with a cube and build it into an object or an animal. This would just illustrate how to use some of the tools and give people a taste of it.

Below are all the high quality images I have of the robot. These are called renders.

I applied all the skills I learned from a fantastic video tutorial on this model. The robot has basic color but no textures. It does have metallic settings applied to the red surfaces. I added an emission texture for the glowing green eye. There is also environment lighting in a few of my renders.

Block 1 large.jpg

This is called the blocking out faze. I built the model from cubes, cylinders and spheres.

Block Mech 2.jpg

The model has perfect symmetry because I was working with half a robot. There is something that you can apply on Blender called a mirror modifier. It basically clones what you create on one side and mirrors it on the other. using this method, your model will be totally uniform.

Block mech 3.jpg

Once I made the model, I added the color, metallic shine, and the glowing eye.

color2.jpg

Last I added the environment HDRI. This basically creates light and shadow from the environment that effects the model and the scene.

Bit Mech1.jpg

Blender has awesome rendering software that allows you to create images like these as well as animation. The possibilities are endless! It took me about two weeks to get the hang of the basics. It takes a lot of work but it is massively rewarding. You can really get your fulfillment as an artist and there are many job opportunities. Blender is also great for making NFTS and metaverse models.

I hope you've enjoyed this glimpse into the world of 3D. I've really enjoyed making this post for you. I forgot how enjoyable it is to create content for Hive. Btw, I still use my old 2D illustration in conjunction with my 3D art. I might show you how I do this on a future post ;)

Take care and see you all soon!

Sort:  

That's pretty cool! How long did it take you to feel comfortable with the program?

Looking forward to a tutorial...

Cheers!

I'd say about two to three weeks. I was able to build half decent models and add basic textures and lighting. Designing characters is harder than say building a model car. You'll need to do some courses,online tutoring or videos video tutorials to learn stuff like that. The more time you put in the better you get :)