WAR: A Soldiers Prayer part 1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

And i prayed for the break of dawn, before the darkness of the light overwhelms me.
And i prayed for a single ray of light to break through this engulfing darkness around me.
And the darkness turned darker, and warmth grew cold,
I prayed once more for sunlight to rescue me from this blizzards hold.
And bits and pieces of memories flashed before my eyes,
The shot, the pain, the fall and then darkness turning warmth to Ice.
And i heard my comrade's cry, falling back for extraction,
But the darkness would not crack, even for a fraction.
And then the darkness began to fade, bringing light in it's wake,
I reached out to it, too distraught to care if it was a wrong turn to take.
And then i saw men who had fallen by my hand,
And those who fell to protect me, walking hand In hand.
And i know my time was up, for I had joined the zombie like parade,
The pain I had felt was a bullet searing through my flesh and barricade.
And i prayed one last time for my family,
That they live together happily.
And i prayed that they know not tears or pain,
Like I felt on this battlefield for a cause so vain.
And i prayed that the Angels would watch over my little girl,
And give me strength and courage to navigate this hell.
And i prayed for my unit, may those fallen find peace,
And those standing remain firm like an iroko tree is.
And this is the prayer of fallen soldier- a hero one day, a dead man the next,
This is my creed; I am a soldier, a warrior by choice, in this life and the next

After watching the movie, Hacksaw ridge, I was moved to pen something down.

My heart goes out to the soldiers everywhere in the world fighting our battles for us.

Thanks for reading.