''YELLOW-FRONTED WOODPECKER'' Watercolour and progress in images

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Streemians!
I told you about my love for birds and how happy I feel when I draw them.

This is a more detailed watercolor of the Yellow-fronted woodpecker (Melanerpes flavifrons) who lives in Paraguay, Argentina but especially in Brazil. Of course, I have never seen one in reality, maybe when I'll travel in that part of the world, but what attracted me is the feathering of this bird and the combination of colors.

I think the next woodpecker drawing will be about the ordinary one Dendrocopos syriacus, who lives here in the European area. In any case, it reminds me of the Walter Lantz and Ben Hardaway's cartoons I watched with pleasure when I was a child about Woody Woodpecker.

For many people, the noise produced by the woodpecker can be annoying but for me it is fascinating how fast this bird can move its head. :)

woody 3.jpg


The progress:
woody collage 1.jpg

woody collage 22.jpg

woody collage 2.jpg

woody collage 4.jpg

woody me.jpg

DSC00795.JPG

DSC00793.JPG


''Even the woodpecker owes his success to the fact that he uses his head and keeps pecking away until he finishes the job he starts.'' Coleman Cox

woody cover copyright.jpg


Yellow-fronted woodpecker
Watercolour on Arches paper 300g/mp


Thank you for upvoting and commenting!

Cheers,
@aci7

Sort:  

Beautiful colors, technique application of paint, and the body and feathers of this bird are awesome! You nailed it @aci7!

Much appreciation for your kind words dear @reddust! Thank you! :)

This is perfect!
Up and resteemed!

Thank you very much!

You're an amazing artist. It's beautiful.

And you are very generous! Thank you!

Always loved the sound of the woodpeckers! Unfortunately here in the middle of a (small) town one doesn't have any around.

Excellent painting and I love the step by step illustration! Did a similar post on another "mische" painting... hope you don't mind me mentioning it, but if I remember correctly, you seemed to express an interest in my approach once.

Thank you! Sorry for my delay! I was offline couple of days. Of course I'm very interested in your approach. I'm going to check it! :)

Wow!!! It's beautiful :O

Thank you @taica! :)

It looks so nice like an real bird people who can do somthing like this are genius

Thank you very much for your kind words!

Beautiful painting! :)

Steem on! Cheers! :)

Delightful spirit!!

Thank you! :)