Another Value Painting Practice on Digital

in #art3 years ago

I recently find myself struggle finding time to work on my practice sketches. My work just occupies a lot of my time that I just end up going home late and sleep. It's mentally taxing on the body to look at a microscope all day and examining a specimen. Art requires some creativity and I'm all burned up with images of microbes and cells after work.

Girl Practice2.png

Anyway, this is another piece that was aimed to improve my previous work flow. I wanted to gauge my value painting, sketch, and minor editing skills. Not expecting any big leaps from my previous output, but at least some subtle differences should be noticeable this time around.

I know my base sketch looks way better than the final output and it's frustrating.

No need to tell me I need to do more blending and contrast. I can see some work is needed on the facial features especially shading and lighting. I just thought better to have black and white first so my eyes get used to values. Plenty of stuff that needs to be improved from here and it's going to look worse on color.


I'm torn between pursuing an art style similar to WLOP but at the same time going for the regular manga art is another good alternative. The latter may look easy to render visually but there are subtle cues that differ in the process that alters the overall style of the work. This just means any decision would require me to invest more time learning the specific technique.

1.jpg

2.jpg

Will still try to improve on the skill on the sidelines. It's part of the 2021 New Year's Resolution goal.


If you made it this far reading, thank you for your time. This is a creative footer by @adamada. A Hobby Illustrator

Sort:  

HI! I just discovered your channel, @adamada ! Great to find a fellow artist on here. I'm looking forward to following the development of your wonderful illustrations!

Best
@elenahornfilm 🐠

Why don't you publish this in the drawing communities? Surely more people would see you.