You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Squichy

in #art6 years ago

You make amazing art. Would you mind telling me what skills are needed to develop in order to reach that level of expertise? What are the best sites for me to study digital painting for free?

Sort:  

That's a fairly big question, that might take a long reply, first let me know, do you have Photoshop, and a tablet or Cintiq to paint on? What is your level of experience, in traditional media, and in digital media?

I have photoshop cs3. I can manage to find a higher version once I get the hang of the program. I have a wacom intuos. For traditional media, just pencils, inks, and paper. Digital media is still on entry level. Like your baby step in using a tablet but instead of creating organized sketches you can only muster disfigured doodles.

I don't have the opportunity to study the art because most of my time is spent on learning another profession. My love for learning the process is the only driver why I allot some time teaching myself the craft. If I can render an image just near half the quality you got on this post, that would already be a goal met for this year alone.

Ok that's great, I'd recommend CS6 because that's what I use, but 3 should be fine as well. :) I also use a Wacom.
Have you seen this video by Shaddy Safadi? He's a famous concept artist with lots of experience. Here he goes through all the things needed to set up.

After that I recommend looking at the rest of the series as well, I think it's 12 videos.

Thank you for the lead. I appreciate it! :)

No problem. Schoolism.com is another great resource, it's not free, but for a low monthly fee you can look at many hours of great lessons from amazing artists, personally I've looked at Sam Neilson's classes on painting, highly recommended