Black-and-White to Colored Digital Painting Experiments

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! I am going to share to you how I was able to successfully convert Black and White digital paintings into colored ones.

All of the techniques I have are not successful over night! I invest time on practices , cried my sh*t out, depressed every single night but still wakes up trying to get it right! GUYS, IT'S OKAY TO GIVE UP TONIGHT, BUUUUUT TRY AGAIN TOMORROW!

title2.jpg

So let me start off with this piece below, which was one of the first experiments I did with converting BnW to Colored painting,done using Adobe Photoshop CS6

tracer.jpg

To which I redid to this

tracer fanart2.jpg

But still I honestly think this is not the one, this is not the right mixture especially the skintone--- looks so muddy, there's no life to it.

Don't get me wrong with my over reaction guys, I practice aiming to improve not to settle down with what's just okay. And I genuinely appreciate other artist's techniques, we are all different (I don't know how to do that and this one artist nailed it). It's just that we have our own standards just for ourselves, we are hard on ourselves, don't try to deny it *wink.

I can even say, leaving it BnW would have been better, I also put up the process just to share how I painted it.

process.jpg

See, much better. The thing is, I always create in BnW ever since I resigned and it's time to actually create a colored one, the goal is to make the skin tone alive.

taemincolornew.jpg

You can view the process of the painting below:

Now this is how I convert it to colored

  • (1) I added a gradient map layer

00-1.jpg

  • (2) Set the four colors into black, something cool, something warm, white respectively

00.jpg

  • (3) Add base color in "color" layer mode

01.jpg

So basically if you hide the BnW layer, this is what it looks like

02-1.jpg

  • (4) Add the dark shade in "color burn" layer mode

02.jpg

  • (5) And lastly, the subtle touch of colors (blush, bluish of the shadow part) which I painted in "soft light" layer mode. This will make it not flat-looking.

03.jpg

This is not the best but I can already see the light, the road I am trying to aim.

If you haven't seen the Go Ara artwork (just click on that link), it was a product of the experimentation, when I got used to the process.

So that's it for now guys, all artworks are Copyright @adelair - All Rights Reserved

I hope you guys learned something!

See you again next time!

Adelair

Sort:  

So when will you draw me?

Posted using Partiko Android

Ingnan ra ka nko if makalibre nako jai hahah

Posted using Partiko Android

Niceee. Will be waiting :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @adelair, awesome drawing!
just from this one video i have learnt alot about art

Thanks @ykdesign i'm glad you learned from this

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Very interesting process, @adelair ! I guess colouring takes a bit of thought on balance and overall picture tone and all that :> Good post !

Hi @veryspider you are totally right 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

There's no right or wrong on how to draw or colour, so I think you're doing great with your art process, since the results turn out fine. How you paint is very technical, it is interesting for me to see your step by step :).

Hihi yes, I take advantage of what the photoshop can give, so I experiment on the settings ang modes. Thank you very much @scrawly ♥️

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing kaayu ang laki te @adelair :)

ahahha Thank you Aljune XD