You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How The F..K Do I Make Living As An Artist??? Confession Of A Mad Man

in #art6 years ago

FINALLY I FOUND YOU !!
Finally someone who is right on, and made me read the whole post , which i normally find hard to do :-) but your post i enjoyed so much.. every word of it happened to "hit the spot". so it is appreciated that you took the time to post this "message"! I am your new "fan" and follower!
See you around !
I love to be impressed like this !! ;-)
Thank You Jan !
i am impressed.jpg

Sort:  

I am happy I was THE ONE haha :) So flattering! You got a new fan and follower in me too! Love your art!

Jan, you just made my day, but here is a couple of question for you if i may - i can't let them go for some reason since i read your post.

  • i would love to know about that "narrow margin" when you run out of money, yet you kept on painting, and kept your high spirit up. how was that ? Did you not get scared? I guess i am curious what gave you strength? Were you reading uplifting spiritual books maybe?
  • Everything has happened already ! - Tell me more on this please, would you ? :-)
    Thank You ! :-)

@agneslaczo if you insist, I'll throw my wisdom at ya :D haha, kiddin, I ain't wise yet madam, not yet haha. But hey, seriously, this is exactly what happened: after around 3 years of painting full time and having no other income, I had to sit down and face my fears and doubts. I was barely making the ends meet on my most basic needs such as studio rent. So I sit down and I asked myself a fundamental question: would I still continue to paint if I was broke and unrecognized? It took me a while to process it in pure honesty, but the answer came straight from my heart: YES I WOULD, for joy and love. And that's what I did. The difference was that after this decision, I had only 3 moths worth of money left, but I had new realization: i stopped caring about what I thought people would buy and I started painting only what I felt. Shortly after that I got a download of a first Buddha painting ever in my meditation. I painted it and it sold immediately. So did the second one. That was around 2014 and my style changed completely from landscapes to visionary art. Slowly, despite the initial criticism of "few established artists", I developed my own niche and eventually my own followers. Rest is history: I sold my first painting for $500, then $5000, then $10000 and now I'm shooting to six figures, while not giving a damn, I can stay relaxed around clients and I emanate confidence even when I ask for horrendous amounts of $ for my art, because I have rock solid faith in it and they can feel it. I can back it up by my personna, that's the key. That's the difference between being real and being a wannabe (wishful thinking). And it only comes thought time, and countless trial and tribulations and breakdowns. You just have to say FUCK IT, and do your best FOR YOURSELF, FOR LOVE, not for the market or others, and then hone that skill like crazy motherfucker day and night! Uff, that was long, hope it helped! As for your second question, that's another story and I gotta paint now, but you look like a cool shit (that's a compliment, forgive my language:), so just add me on Facebook if you on it and you can eventually soak the answer from my posts. Much Love and success to you Agnes! Your name sounds very Hungarian, love that country!

:-D Hungarian cool shit will be right behind you ! ;-)
See You around, thanks for everything !
<3