Honouring Changing Cycles, Breathing in Solstice Energies and Light

in #artlast year

The heart is a multi-layered thing: forever resilient, inherently vulnerable; alight with hope, weighed down by the shadows of the world – this reflection came to mind as I sketched out the artwork above.

I go through regular cycles of enjoying the virtual space and the connectivity it provides… then not wanting to be online, growing tired of screens… before I find myself wishing to return again, to communicate, to look outwards rather than retreating in. I’ve learned to accept those cycles: not to see either one as more negative or positive than the other.

I do love returning to the Hive world when I feel called to do so. I love the creative challenges of freewriting, honing my ability to pace and plot a good story, and seeing others do the same. I hope to become more consistent with my posts over time, and I do thank people for their patience in this regard. 💗

Wishing a very happy Solstice to all, whether it is summer or winter where you stand. Below is a little meditation I wrote today, inspired by this significant turning point in the calendar.

The Great Turn

It has come back, as we knew it would:
the rippling of the seasons, the changing of the guard.
Ripening or retreating
– as we have seen it from where we stand –
the orb that enlivens our days seems to embark on its great turn
while we move with the shifting ground,
while leaves dream again
of falling to nourish the earth
or bursting from their dormant state,
while the smaller orb that eases our nights
prepares to make itself more abundantly known – or to fall away:
following, as it always does, its own cycle.

All artworks my own.