Breaking Free (original)

in #art6 years ago

This is an old painting I did to represent the abusive relationship I went through.

It started out as something absolutely beautiful. (The flowers and pearls)

Then over time (stopwatch), darkness caved in and everything turned to black.

And it was dark, for a very, very long time… until I finally decided to break free.PicsArt_01-04-03.24.39.jpg

Sort:  

Very creative, hope you have something better now

Oh, much MUCH better. I met an amazing man, completely by accident, who had an incredible family that took me in with open arms. I couldn't be happier!

Glad to hear! WELCOME to Steemit!
I saw this re-steemed by my good bud @carlgnash

Shhh I don't want people to know I associate with you ;)

Oh nice! Well thank you! I know @carlgnash in real life. He's my boyfriends sisters husband. He's good peeps, for sure.

I added a little more to my story in a newer post if you wanted to give it a look. I'm gonna go check your blog now!

Still being so new here, I'm trying my best to make as many new friends as possible. 😁

Good to hear! I am sure that current situation does reflect on your art as well :)

Very beautiful! Knowing the story behind it only makes it that much better :) Thanks for sharing

Thank you for your kind words!

Wow. I had not seen this one before Alayna! I really, really love your concept and execution here. The way the darkness morphs into the dress trail is amazing. Love the tentacle/tendrils of darkness reaching out. This whole post is powerful with the symbolism and the back story - so glad you did break free from that relationship!

Much love - Carl

Thank you so much Carl! Unfortunately its a piece that accidentally got left behind when I came to Oregon. Luckily though, I at least had a picture of it.