FASHION DESIGN PROJECT nr. 2

in #art7 years ago

I am very glad that you guys enjoyed my fashion illustration post because I have a few of those to share and even if I am no longer designing clothes, the years I studied fashion are still influencing my art and vice versa- my artistic approach always influenced my way of designing.

78f41020054491.562e4bec5d59b.jpg

turban and jewelry design- digital fashion illustration

Since I was about three I was raised in an artistic environment, surrounded by paint, brushes, sculpture etc.
When I was ten I went to fine art school where I learned a lot about how to build a composition, how to study and research inspiration,how to render and develop shapes. Later, after highschool when I started studying fashion I was inclined to use the same methods that I was familiar with from my art education even if I was not really supposed to and I had to take in consideration other aspects to add to my designs- like target groups, production costs and functionality
The project that I am sharing today shows how I married together my art education with the newly studied design rules since this is one of the first fashion assignments I did :P

dbd3fe28477281.55c2093f8da9d.jpg

As I told you I was used to choose some shapes for a starting point and develop and arrange them in a composition .
I choose the left images and I first drew them how I saw them and tried to find ways to render them in textiles

1545140_10152159928897427_356161041_n.jpg

After choosing the shapes I decided to go for a 60’ s inspiration because there were a lot of repetitive geometric patterns and I could add bright colors and strong contrasts. I was required to do a moodboard or atmosphere page and for me only the names were new because I used to research inspiration the same way for my paintings. In art my themes were inspired from ancient civilizations, religions, philosophy, nature, folklore etc
But with fashion I could go and research different eras and how costume was influenced by social and economical events which it was new and fascinating to me.

1512326_10152159928887427_1946453544_n.jpg

Another new thing I loved about fashion was that I could create new types of contrasts with the textiles, I could juxtapose transparencies, use structural fabrics to create volume, combine shine with texture.
It was a bit like painting and sculpture combined.
I went about choosing a target group like I would create a fictional character with present and imagined future social needs. I could translate in costume an entire environment for this character and I loved this part too

I did not enjoyed or excelled at the practical side, about production cost and resources, marketing or simplifying my designs to suit those but I won’t go into that since I don’t have much input to give :)

And here is the final mini collection.

1549487_10152159928717427_653887663_n.jpg

1549574_10152159928722427_1923640908_n.jpg

here is a link to my first post about fashion design:
https://steemit.com/art/@alexandravart/fashion-illustration-project

If you guys liked this project don't be shy and express your thoughts in a comment

Upvote and Resteem are not mandatory only if you think is worth it :P

https://www.facebook.com/alexandrav.art/shop
https://www.instagram.com/alexandrav.art/
https://www.etsy.com/people/alexandravasile4
https://twitter.com/alexandrav_art

Sort:  

I love this. I also love fashion and design and am an artist as well. I see the 60's inspiration, which is wonderful and I like how you used the shape and curve as a starting point. You have a new follower ;)

followed back nice to meet you :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alexandravart to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow, interesting way of thinking! love how you explain your ideas)

thank you, I don't think I am that good at explaining my ideas but your comment is encouraging