NOSTALGIA artwork and process video

in #art7 years ago

I am usually driven by my curiosity, fascination, need of understanding when I am choosing a theme for a painting.
Through a series of paintings like “feelings”, I try to find a new way of answering my questions. I need to understand my own sensibility and instead of writing down the information I know and leave question marks for what I have yet to discover, I invent a visual abstract language to help me, in a way, see a shape with color, value, qualities and relationships that will still add to the bigger picture.
I give a human face to the feeling because this association helps me understand it better
The generic name ”feelings” was chosen as such because I want the description to be visual rather than linguistic - names, tags, words and question marks are not efficient anymore having been used so often without a complex meaning.
My ultimate interest is having more consciousness and appreciation for all my emotional capacities.

Untitled-1.jpg

This artwork speaks about the feeling of nostalgia, a pleasant longing for the past.
If feels like a soft shadow of sadness being overcome by joy and gratitude. Blue transparent sadness for the time that has gone and that placed your happiness somewhere in the past. Worm sparkles of gratitude for the experience and the sweet memory that has made you who you are today.
A quiet smile relieves a gasp of air through tired bruised lips, so tired from smiling and laughing, cringing and shouting, arguing and agreeing with the present moment.
Deep lines around the mouth and eyes, from being always observant and reactive to the now, morph into soft petals in a moment of relaxation. A short break from the present in which all the tension disappears and you can visualize a familiar happy place.

nostalgia.jpg

NOSTALGIA 2017 watercolor on paper 26/40 cm

1nostalgia room.jpg

nostalgia frame.jpg

The framed original is still for sale in my shop at €219.00, but I make a discount for steemians so the price in SBD is also 219 :)

The painting process is explorative and I find my shapes and composition along the way and you can see it all here :)

Here are links to my posts about other artworks from this series describeing inspiration, theme, technique and materials : https://steemit.com/art/@alexandravart/revelation-artwork-and-process-video
https://steemit.com/art/@alexandravart/drama-kiss-c-2017-artwork-and-process

Hope you enjoyed this post.
share your thoughts in a comment :)
https://www.facebook.com/alexandrav.art/shop
https://www.instagram.com/alexandrav.art/
https://www.etsy.com/people/alexandravasile4
https://twitter.com/alexandrav_art

Sort:  

Amazing !

Great Artwork - like the Colors and the Style - cool :-)
Resteemed

I really loved the green one on the left side of the three diffrent faces. It looks sad but at the same time happy with itself ... for me ^^
But all of this artwork looks great :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alexandravart to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Really beautiful piece of art. Thank you for sharing. Resteemed.

Congratulations @alexandravart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i just upvote you & you back upvote my post ....please@alaminbappy

Oh shit, your painting is so cool. I wish more Romanians would join Steem.

I have two girlfriends that are studying arts, I tried to convince them both to join since their paintings are dynamite but they keep on postpone it. Women, you know what I mean, lol :)))

glad you like it , there are a few Romanians here I just resteemed a post with pics from Bucharest

Sweet. I posted some pictures of Oradea, but that was a long time ago.
We should be telling more people about Steem; it's a great platform.