"Pearl wedding" /oil on canvas/ painting process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

10_resize.JPG

My greetings!
This double portrait of a married couple is a gift from children to parents on their 30th anniversary of living together.
I was asked to paint a portrait in the style of my diploma painting.
The idea was to portray them as a dancing waltz. As in the first wedding dance.
To work on this picture, as always, I started with a sketch. I did the sketch on my computer (unfortunately, it didn`t survive).

When the compositional solution was approved, I transferred the image to the canvas using ordinary drawing charcoal.

1_resize.JPG
After drawing, I started to apply imprimatur. The main paint mixing consisted of ocher red color with addition of light ocher and umber. Imprimatur was applied chaotically, in places with a large addition of linseed oil, turpentine.
I applied a little bit of texture paste in some places (dress decoration, flowers ...)

2_resize.JPG
I began to draw with dark colors. Umbra and ultramarine.

3_resize.JPG
The next step is to reveal the light.

4_resize.JPG
5_resize.JPG
Refine the image and fill it with color. I painted the darkest and lightest areas.

6_resize.JPG
8_resize.JPG
The finishing phase is the longest. It includes generalization, refinement of details and thin layered lisquerading, determining the tone, drawing and color.

1.gif

TITLE:"Pearl wedding"
Medium: Oil on Canvas
SIZE: 120х80 cm

Thanks for reading!
I will be glad to hear what do you think about this work)

Also you can find me here

instagram32.png
facebook32.png

Sort:  

That is a fun gif, watching you speed paint lol! The painting is lovely, what a sweet gift!

Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it :)

fantastic work, i love oil painting in general and i love how you showed the process ... big upvote and follow

Thanks a lot!
I'm glad that you liked the process and the picture itself :)

sure alex, nothing compares to original painting, i had several attempts to paint in oil using layering technique, but when i see alaprima result .. i just adore it .. so keep on the good work my friend, and i will follow you

Yes, oil sprinkling technique requires patience and experience. follow too

Another amazing example of work with the textures!

Thank you very much for the warm comment!