Beneath the Veil. Feathers and Roses. Day 5. Original Art. Collage. Photography.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Day 5
Roses beneath a Veil.
Of purest white. Feathers that held the dew
Of the most exquisite day. Tides of the Easter FULL moon.

~Ally.

Artist's Journaling and my new Eco-Collages.

After completing a short course recently on Artist's Journaling with Sally Cooper: I'm starting to make some small Eco-collages: Which eventually will pave the way for other pieces that will incorporate drawing and painting. ~Ally. Seven Day Covenant: Day 2. A Gratitude Tag.

For now, these Eco-collages are more like 'warm-up exercises' for me and they'll be pasted into my personal Artist's Journal: A small notebook that I purchased from Silvia Beneforti's Homesteaders Co-op Store VUMAP. Seven Day Covenant: Day 2. A Gratitude Tag.

And another range of Eco-collages based on different aspects and/or details within these small Eco-collages will then be created for my Homesteaders Co-op Store.

This Eco-Collage was completed today ~ Although once again I'm really not sure if it has everything it needs yet.

Beneath the Veil.

SQU.800-4586.jpg


The making of Beneath the Veil.

A piece of Arches Watercolour paper was cut to 140 mms x 95 mms, which is just a fraction smaller than the size of the notebook.

In my last article, I mentioned experimenting with transferring photocopy images of my photographs to paper. I'll share the full process another time.

A photocopy of one of my photographs, shared in the article: Come into the Circle of Love was transferred to the watercolour paper. I'll explain the actual process more fully in another article.

I wasn't entirely happy with the result: Too milky but decided to continue.

SQU.800-4466.jpg


Threads.

A coarse rice paper was softly pulled apart: Making the 'weave' more open. Positioned on the bottom to partially cover and blend in with the image as well as on the top and pasted down.

Some fine threads, to accent the touches of turquoise in the feathers of the image were also positioned and pasted down along the top.

SQU.800-2-4.jpg


Golden Triangles, Threads and Dried Hydrangeas.

Three golden triangles, four hydrangea flowers and lines of hemp string were placed and pasted down.

I was still unsure about how to work with the image. I wanted it to be obscure but to still be partially seen. So I had to just step away from it for a while.

SQU.800-4576.jpg


Structure.

The idea eventually came: To lay a piece of white netting over the image.

I've used netting and other transparent fabrics before in collages extending into 3D assemblages and have found that netting works best when it's raised away from the image.

So I pasted down 4 small 'pillars' ~ Each made of 2 squares of watercolour paper ie 2 mms in height.

The netting supported by these 'pillars' hovered slightly over the image. 4 additional small squares of watercolour paper were pasted upon the netting, on top of each 'pillar' so that the netting was sandwiched between these squares and the 'pillars.'

SQU.800-4578.jpg


Beneath the Veil.

Two white duck feathers were placed on either side of the netting. The feathers I selected had beautifully shaped separations ~ I 'helped' overlap them just a little.

Dried hydrangeas were positioned and pasted over the 'pillars.'

SQU.800-4586.jpg


Details.

I'm not totally happy with this Eco-collage yet. But I'm not sure what else it needs ~ If anything. So I'll just put it aside until my Creative Muse lets me know.

Although: I really do like this detail of it, as a grainy image.

SQU.800-4586-2.jpg


Another Current Project.

Feathers that have been incorporated into so many of my art pieces from collage work to ephemeral arrangements are a prominent part of a range of eco-friendly products that I'm in the process of developing. They'll be available soon from my Homesteaders Co-Op Store: Eco Curios: Magical wands and hats, poles and figures as well as small baskets and containers.

And eventually, images inspired by these curios will also be available in my MakersPlace Gallery.


Magical Wands.

Just a glimpse of my first Magical Wand: With all the feathers freely given by the wild ducks at the Roseville Lake.


Imagine.
All the wonderful things.
That you could wish for. If you had:
A MAGICAL WAND.

~Ally.


ORIGINAL.2000.CR-2.jpg


A heart that is holding infinite possibilities.
A creative who is learning to trust the mystery of what will be.
A spirit that is willing to fly into new creative realms and share the journey.
~Ally.


My Seven Day Covenant.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7.


makers place gallery.png


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


HSCO.GHSC.FINAL.png



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

very beautiful roses, and creative is amazing, have a great

Hi allyinspirit,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Fascinante trabajo... me gusta mucho hacer collage, y este me parece grandioso y muy creativo <3

Congratulations @allyinspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Art of collage is so original and beautiful. It is the first time I saw these pieces of art. Thank you for posting your beautiful art work.
Peace

A creative spirit indeed. I love your thought processes. I work like this too whether it is written or meditated upon painted or made into a collage.
May I be so bold and hopefully not offensive if I say that I found the netting final layer obscures for me the delicacy of what is underneath.........but of course a photograph is a bit misleading.
Congratulations on lovely work.
You have inspired me to journal in this way too.
Thank you.

wooaw....such an amazing art piece you have in there. Art is really adorable and great . see how you combined many different materials to tell a very great story on its own.
i really enjoyed every second i spent on your blog and every information in there was worthwhile. Great artwork and keep the artist spirit up always