Painted Faces

in #art4 years ago

Hi People!

Here are some faces I've done since my last post.

20200212_portraits.png

The first two are based off photos of real people, and the third is from my imagination and part of a larger piece that I'm working on. I'm posting a closeup here because I don't think the face will really stand out in the final piece as it is, so I might change it a lot before that's done and I kinda like how it is now.

Materials:
Krita, an open-source art program
A Wacom Intuos Pen&Touch tablet
PhotoCollage for the collages. I'm getting used to it, but it's still a kind of jank little program.

Process:
Frankly it's been a long time since I last practiced portraits and I've never been particularly good at them, so the first one (the guy) is a bit rough. I heard of this challenge where you put a grayscale layer over your paint layer while working so you don't really see the true colors until you're finished. It helps with choosing unconventional colors and is pretty fun.

So beginning of guy:

20200202_randports_1.resized.png

Finished working on guy:

20200202_guybw.resized.png

Finished with color reveal:

20200202_guy.resized.png

Then I did the purple gal. Started with some crappy sketches.

20200204_rgd_sketches.png

And then I just painted things and didn't actually pay that much attention to the sketches, haha.
Finished piece:
20200204_rgd1.resized.png

And then I was gonna post those two here but I totally forgot to :P

Today I did this colorful girl from imagination for a bigger thing that I'm trying to use lots of colors on.

Crappy sketch:

20200210_alice_rsp.png

And painted:

20200210_alice_001_portrait.png

Thanks for reading/looking!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @alnhart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I love! I'm trying to try Krita but I still have to learn a lot. It is a new program for me. Of the three portraits I really liked the last one (the one of your imagination). In the second it seems to me that the lips were false, however the ears, eyes, lenses and nose were fabulous. A cordial greeting @alnhart

Thank you! Krita has a bit of a learning curve, but it's the only laptop painting software I've ever used, so I can't really give advice if you're switching from photoshop or something. And you're right about the lips on the second one, I see what you're talking about though I didn't notice it before, haha. Nice to meet you!

Your post was voted by THEUNIONSUPPORT.

tus_fondzooom1.jpg