Rats!

in #art4 years ago

Rats!
Hi Everyone, I'm back/still here, and I painted some rats :)

20200125_rats_001_5.resized.png

I actually really like rats and had a couple as pets when I was a kid. I was going to do some happy rats with red background for the lunar new year, but I kept envisioning them in an alley and that's not very new years-y so these are just some city-type rats.

I also wanted to try something a bit simpler and more comic-like than what I last posted, so this has pretty simple colors. I kept the sky reddish though, because even though this isn't a year of the rat painting anymore, I felt like a red sky was cool. It looks more pink right now when I'm posting this, though, so I don't quite know what it'll look like for you.

And finally I haven't really checked in here in several days, and that's my bad. I wasn't feeling great, but also I can honestly be a bit of a flake. I'm working on that and hopefully eventually I'll be able to blog and make art more consistently :)

Materials:

I do thumbnails and basic sketches on in a basic sketchbook with ballpoint pen. Nothing fancy.
I use Krita, which is a cool open source art program, to do all my digital drawing and painting.
I make my process collages in this weird little program called PhotoCollage and I'm totally up for alternative recommendations because it's sort of awkward to use.

Process:

I start by making various sketches. The picture is dark because my phone camera is not the best.

IMG_20200129_070950718.jpg

Then I sketch the rats in Krita. I struggled a bit with the standing rat and initially it was holding a wire because it was going to be a robot rat.

rats_sketch.jpg

Finished rats and lines for the surrounding scene.

rats_lines.jpg

And then I paint stuff. I actually remembered to export images while painting fairly regularly. The shadows are more for effect than from a particular light source

rats_paintprog.jpg

Lastly, finishing touches and here's the final image again.

20200125_rats_001_5.resized.png

There are things I would change, but I'm pretty happy with it, especially since it felt like I was trying something a bit new.
Thanks for reading and looking :)

Sort:  

Such a cute drawing and so appropaite for the begging of the Year of the Rat:)
Hope you have the time to post more i always enjoy seeing your artworks:)

Thank you! I hope so too, one of my goals this year is to make and post art more often :)

I am the crazy rat lady here oh my I love RATS and this is just adorable

Haha nothing wrong with being a crazy rat lady! I'm glad you like it :)

That's a cool song! And I like all of the closeups of the very cute rats :)

ahh thank you :) yes they are cute, aren't they, ratties are the best!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you! It helps so much when your group curates my posts :)
And I've made that type of cake before, it's quite yummy, especially when non-virtual

I was about to give you the cake but I see someone else did :) weee!

Damn. Your painting as a lot of depth in it! I love it :D

Thank you! :)

I forgot to give you some.
!trdo :p

Congratulations @cwow2, you successfuly trended the post shared by @alnhart!
@alnhart will receive 0.02998013 TRDO & @cwow2 will get 0.01998675 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @alnhart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @alnhart, your post successfully recieved 0.02998013 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@cwow2 earned : 0.01998675 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment