Watercolor of a House with Process

in #art4 years ago

I got some new watercolors for Christmas that are portable and I decided to test them out by painting a house in my neighborhood. It has some nice trees next to it, and I like painting trees. I've also heard that it's good to paint from life references when possible, so this was an attempt at that. I'm not a fast painter, though, so it was a bit tricky since the shadows kept changing.

IMG_20200108_114742210.jpg

First I started with the road and basic house shape.

IMG_20200107_133542676.jpg

And tree placement

IMG_20200107_133958792.jpg

Painted the trees and made some more details on the house

IMG_20200107_140258860.jpg

and the final painting again. I actually added the final touches today while everything else was yesterday.

IMG_20200108_114742210.jpg

In the future I think I need to work on giving the land more dimension, maybe making a pencil sketch first to help with perspective, painting faster so my lighting will be more consistent, and I also need to figure out how to take good pictures with my phone. Most of these photos were taken in almost full sun or only slight shadow so it makes me sad that they all look kind of dark, and I think the colors don't show up super well. Also, I started my painting too close to the edge of the paper, so I should have planned for more of a border, or just been less stingy with my use of paper, haha.

The painting is about 4.5 inches / 11 cm tall and 8 inches / 22 cm wide. I think I measured differently for the different units, so they might not convert exactly.

Materials were a Koi Water Colors Pocket Field Sketch Box for watercolors and brush on Strathmore Watercolor paper

Sort:  

Congratulations @alnhart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!


You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @cwow2

We have planted already
4818.05 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24112.76
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Oh I think its very nice!
I recently tried some watercolor pens.

If the point of trying them was to make me feel like an artist - I failed miserably.

If the point was to make me laugh straight for 20 minutes at how badly I painted - great success!

You are a natural - great job!

Thanks! And I think laughing is the way to go. If you enjoy painting badly enough times you might eventually start painting better :)