Cool Carvings - ice sculpture (Documentary)

in #art6 years ago (edited)


Shot on location in the Siberian Arctic, this Is a documentary produced, directed, shot and edited by myself and fellow artist Niall Magee, It follows our journey to the Russian city of Salekhard to take part in an International ice sculpture competition.
Rights to show it were bought by Irish national TV station TG4 and it has appeared in a few Documentary festivals around the world.
For our first attempt at documentary film making I'm still proud of the achievement.
Grab some popcorn and I'd love to know what you think.

Runtime 25 mins


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Irish lads who can't practice at home travelling to the North of Russia where temperatures can reach -40 degrees Celsius to carve blocks of ice with a sharpened chainsaw and Dan's bare hands.

If you're ever admitted I think we have video evidence to provide to the doctors.

As you can see I was alot younger then. Now a bit of time on a doctor sofa aounds inviting.

You guys rock! What a magical journey and exciting competition. So how does it feel to see your own documentary on tv?

Thanks @Patschwork. It was nerve raking, especially in front of my family. I hate to see myself on camera or hear my voice. I think I look and sound like an eejit. Seeing the video with tv personality introduction and ads in the middle was a strange experience, the whole thing seemed to be watchable and not just the mess it seemed when it was on my home computer.
Thanks so much for watching.

I am big fan of your work. Nice

I like the sculpture that you got in final. But I must say, you are just crazy guys!
For me, even -10C is a good reason to not leave home without an urgent need. And when I saw you (or that was not you?) putting the hand into the water, when the temperature is something close to -20 around in the air ... You must be love your work very much:)))

Thanks Erika. The lowest temperature we recorder was -36c. I have to say it was pretty hard and you had to keep moving or you would freeze. I hate wearing gloves when I work but I soon realised that with ice it's a necessity. I have had a few near misses with frost bite over the years but have discovered better gloves and better shoes. I was amazed that the Nomad girl I talked to showed me her boots from Reindeer skin, she also only had a thin pair of socks and she swore that they were enough. I really should have bought a pair.

I wouldn't have thought it was made from ice looking at the image, very cool!

Very cool indeed, freezing even.:)

I want to hold your publication sir

Thank you

I seriously don't know how anyone could tolerate temperatures like that....

Finished product looks incredible.

Thank you @demotruk. We called the doc 'Cool carvings ' as homage to ' Cool Runnings' a film about the Jamaican bob sleigh team. It is an unlikely story but I'm sure it happened, i think. Thanks (as always )for your support . (I accidentally upvoted this, my own comment. Upvote removed)

Congratulations @ammonite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!