Acorns - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My father passed away two years ago and not an hour goes by that I don't think of him and the knowledge and wisdom he has passed down to me. It's like in the back of my mind he is there guiding me in everything I make. He was a genius with a whole lifetime of making and to me he could do everything. He may not have been a sculptor or artist but when it came to technical knowledge he knew it all. He worked most of his life as a school maintenance man and in that time kept the whole building from falling down. He was an electrician, plumber, builder, carpenter, painter, inventor and everything else besides. On top of that he was also the best father I could have wished for.

As I now raise my own son I try to pass on all I was thought and all I learned along the way. He is only three but every time I take out the screw drivers to fix another broken toy the feeling of the three of us working together to fix it is something quite special. In some ways I feel I am just a conduit of wisdom adding my little bit into the mix.

From little acorns great oaks grow

I said it before and I'll say it again, I don't like to plan a sculpture before time. So many variables are still up in the air that it is a pointless exercise. The sand can be very different than planned and my mental state could also shift before I put tool to sand. Also location can have a big bearing on the sculpture.

Fergus Mulvany and I were asked to make a sculpture over a few days for a daytime talkshow on RTE (Irelands national broadcaster). Each day the presenters would come out with TV crew and we would explain the stage we were at. Letting the viewers see the progress.

Seeds

When we had compacted the sand we thought about what we'd make and a Large oak tree near the pile gave us the inspiration. We wanted to fit it into our sculpture in some way. This got us thinking about trees and the way they pass on information to the next generation. Our muse for this sculpture was obviously nearing the end of its life but it's legacy would live on in all the little oaks it spawned. Each entrusted with the genetic code of how to be the best tree possible.

On a human level there is also this genetic code and of course the knowledge passed down through nurture. We played with these ideas and came up with the composition you see here.

Don't say it, just show it

I won't try to describe the piece in detail because that would be like making a poem about a dance. The sculpture itself can do it's own explaining. Hopefully from my intro you'll understand where our heads were at.

It was a fun project to do especially because of the small interviews each day where we tried to explain our process and to rub shoulders with all the celebrities of Irish television who came to chat with us. It's probably not everyday that they get to hang out with real stars.

The oak is gone now as is our sculpture but I'm sure the seeds and ideas live on to inform the future from the past.

clickablesm.gif


Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Tranquil-sand-sculpture

Caged baby - ice sculpture

Market Analysis using digital elevation maps

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

Your dad was really a versatile guy.

Yes indeed and sadly missed. He left behind a wealth of knowledge and 10 children. 18 grand children and 7 great grand children.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have huge respect for such kind of people...

But wait...what???? 10 children? One man??

How many wives??

Yes, he was a good Irish catholic. I'll tell about my heroic mother another time.

Tradies are awesome, specially the ones as multitalented as your dad!

I don't know about anyone else but I never need you to explain the sculpture to me, just your headspace as you were making it, that I think is what gives depth to whatever I'm seeing (sometimes I'll make something up, most times I just have this habit of staring at pretty things because they're pretty, I overthink enough of my own things without always doing it to other people's ;D). I've loved a lot of your sculptures but I think this one is my favourite, and even moreso because of the backstory.

Wow. Thank you for your always thoughtful comments. If seem had more like you it would be great.
I believe your head space is very important when you make anything. I think it can be seen in the work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Such a cool sculpture. I love the line "He was a genius with a whole lifetime of making" . Sadly most people spend their lives consuming and make very little ...

Thanks for passing on his memory.

There are many blueberries in our house and we are always taught to be careful about picking them as beer :) So yeah, you're lucky that you do not face any bear. They feel bigger and fat at slow speed, but you can say that they do everything - down the hill and down, climb a tree, swimming and everything they are better than us.

You've taken some great photos and I'd like to share some photography tips. Thanks for that!