"No masterpiece was ever created by a lazy artist" - Salvador Dali

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Here is 5 tips for artists on how to get motivated, and inspired to be creative. We all need a kick in our butt sometimes, not sure about you but I definetely do. Often I feel too busy and get distracted by many other things and don't have enough time for painting, so I decided to assess my toughts and write this down.

IMG_1261.JPG

  1. Focus
    Set your focus on your creative field. If it is painting, check out the work of some artists you look up to. Its good to visit art gallery exhibitions, and museums every now and then. Even the library is a good place where you can find books you can get inspirations from. I love to collect and read books about art, art magazines.
    In our times we are privileged to have access to the internet where we can find almost everything. I love to watch movies about the life of artists, and there are plenty of inspiring art videos out there. I think the best way to extend your knowledge is by watching other artist's instructional dvds.

  2. Turn up even you don't feel like it
    Just by turning up creating an atmosphere, by putting some nice music on, a podcast you enjoy listening.
    Its a good time to look at your list, I like to write a lists of things I would like to paint by the end of year, its a good feeling when you achieve ticking them off.
    Even if you don't have time have your sketchbook handy, keep it in your pocket or in the glovebox of your car. Be ready any time you see something that moves you, make some notes small sketches, photos on the way. Catch your inspiration in the moment.

  3. Explore
    I think there is a place we all rather be. Travel is always stimulating. Sometimes all we need is to change location and experience it fully, some good sunshine and fresh air. I think the desire to explore is built in all of us. I love to go to places I have never been, to discover and explore the world around me. Even going for a bikeride can do miracles. I'm pretty lucky to live in a country where is plenty of inspiration everywhere. I especially love beaches, the harbour, the islands, the mountains, discovering these places always fill me up with inspiration.

  4. Play
    Play around with different mediums, try new things, you never tried before. It is always fun just spending time playing with different mediums. Be versatile. I would like to try sculpting, and pottery for a change. Look around and be creative, by using anything you find. For example I know an australian artist using vegemite to create his artworks.

  5. Master
    Try to find a way to go into a deeper level of your subject matter. There is a difference between learning something and mastering something. The sustained focus, of what you are after, just a few things, things that are really matter. People have hard time keeping a narrow focus for an extended time. We have to have a repetitive process to master something or put it into long term memory. Its not about talent its all about practice. Its important to have somebody a mentor who can help correcting your flaws, and guide you by giving practical feedback of your work. Get close to artists who inspire you. Keep up the enthusiasm, and be passionate. The mind can achieve exeptional things if there is passion behind it.

I hope you get inspired, find motivation to reignite your passion to create your art.
Let me know your thoughts on this subject, how you get inspired in the comment section bellow, upvote if you find this useful, and resteem if you think it could be useful for anyone else.

Thanks for reading, take care.

Sort:  

I love your post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

Thanks Im glad you enjoyed it 😊