Soft Pastel Mania!

in #art6 years ago

Hello there my fellow Steemians! Today's drawings are from my Drawing 1 class. These pieces we're all done in soft pastel as required by the professor. Personally I find soft pastels fun but at the same time very challenging. It's hard to work in small details and even if you do work in the details they could smear and now you don't have the details anymore, just a smeared mess. There's also the challenge of blending the colors correctly which if you do wrong can look like a mess. All in all it's a fun medium and I encourage others to try it!

Below are the various pieces I did.

The first piece I did was a drawing of a weeping angel in warm colors. The angel statue was about 2 feet tall and is one of my favorite objects to draw from.

IMG_2499.jpg

The next piece I did is a stipple of the weeping angel. Unfortunately I wasn't able to finish this piece but I think what I have so far can be worked upon further.

IMG_2494.jpg

The next piece was a female torso. I was mainly attempting to use the different colors of pastel to model the torso itself. I think this piece came out nice though I wish I'd had a little more time to finalize details and shading.

IMG_2496.jpg

The next piece I did was a pastel drawing of a horse and a dragon. The objective was to draw one darker than the other and make it seem like one was in front of the other rather than the colors causing them to blend in and look flat.

IMG_2495.jpg

Finally a piece done in cool colors. I had to draw various sculptures and statues and create an interesting composition of it all. I like the modeling on the different sculptures but it was hard trying to work in the smaller details. Definitely something to work on in the future!

IMG_2498.jpg

Thanks for looking at my post. If you enjoyed this post make sure to upvote, follow, and resteem! Thanks and have a great day!