Baby McKenzie's Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art6 years ago

Baby McKenzie was set to be my first niece on my husband's side of the family and everyone was tickled pink! I was very excited to pull out my pink fabrics and start crafting! I chose solid pink as the background of each patch that coordinated with a print.

544130_10152646347720035_1868009058_n.jpg

The quilt measured 36" x 29", which is a great size for a baby. It was quilted with free motion stipling. The pattern is called Disappearing 4 Patch, and borders were added.
312709_10152646348000035_749117492_n.jpg

The back is two solid strips and some of the leftover fabric in the middle.
734612_10152646347890035_608251006_n.jpg

I embroidered her name and my name on the back with a heart. It's the same color so not super noticeable, but I love it! I started trying to add this to my quilts to help personalize them some. I embroider it on the quilt back before I piece it together and then I carefully sew around it when quilting.
295561_10152646355625035_337970538_n.jpg

Baby McKenzie received her quilt on the day she was born. Check her out with her mommy! This baby girl is now almost 5!

Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Baby M’s Soft Flannel Quilt
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!


monday.png

Sort:  

Gorgeous!
My mom used to needlepoint (among other knitting and crocheting projects).
I never learned the skills myself, but she made some of the most beautiful family heirlooms for all the grand and GREAT grandkids.

Yes, that does sound so nice!! It is nice to have something to pass down to all the kids!

Your quilt is So beautful, @apanamamama! It looks so soft and sumptuous, and the love behind the creation of it makes it even more special. #Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you!

Thank you! I appreciate you stopping by!

There is nothing better than thoughtful and in this case hand-made gifts. They are worth way more than any amount of money. Just the other day one of my friends had a birthday here and everybody bought some fancy gifts, but my gift came from the heart. And, it was well thought out writing on the card. Out of all the gifts mine was the only one which made her hug me. :)

True gifts come from the heart. Just like yours. So amazing. Love it. :)

That's nice! Yes, a thought out and heartfelt gift is usually the best way to go. :) Sometimes, time isn't on my side and I can't get something made in time. ;) That's really awesome that you did that for your friend. I'm glad she appreciated it.

So very beautiful! Freyja's Grandma made her a quilt for when she was born and we'll treasure it always. So precious that you made one for your darling niece what an amazing gift :) Love, love it!

Thank you! That's so great that her Grandma mad a quilt for her. I just love quilts! :)

Pretty Pink!! It’s so fun making girly things!! It is such a precious quilt and I love the embroidery work you did! Wow five years ago huh? Did she have other children since then to pass it in to? Thanks for sharing another beautiful quilt with us :D

Thanks! I got an embroidery machine so I like to take it out for projects like this. :) She didn't have any more kids - McKenzie has an older brother. :)

You’re welcome ~ Oh okay. I always wonder what people do with their handmade baby gifts once their kids outgrow it.

Yeah, my nephew got an "8" quilt with his favorite stuff at the time. He's now 15. I found his quilt folded in the bottom of his closet not long ago. Kind of sad, but it's not like he'll take it to college with him. I just want him to keep it! I need to make less baby ones for my kids when they're older too. ;)

I definitely understand that! He could keep it and possibly pass it down to his children one day :)

Yes that would be a good idea for your kids!

What a beautiful baby! Nice quilt too. :-) @ironshield

Thanks for stopping by. :) She is a cute baby!

What a fun quilt! I never saw the Disappearing Four Patch design before and it's really pretty. You have a really good eye for details and fabric pattern combination - and the extra fabric on the back is really neat.

Are you having more trouble getting ahold of fabric now that you're in Panama or are you able to order it?

Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I liked this pattern as well. When I have a quilt idea, I usually look through pinterest for ideas and then look for a tutorial for whichever one I like. ;) When we moved here, we brought a container with us. I brought a ton of fabric (my mom likes to collect it so I took a bunch of hers). So I have a lot of fabric and there are a lot of shops around here but they sell cheap junk mostly! There is a quilt shop in our town that imports quilt fabric from the States which is nice but I haven't gotten any from them. :)

A quilt is forever---and I love how you embroidered her name. Quilting is on my "learn to do" list someday. What gorgeousness.

Thanks! I love quilting. You should definitely learn. It was a lot easier than I thought it would be and I love doing it.

What a sweet quilt and even sweeter baby ❤️❤️

I like how you embroidered the names to blend in yet be visible when paid attention to.

Thank you! It was a fun quilt to do. I'm just glad I could do a girlie one. I love the pinks.

I 💚 Your Quilts! One of those things I'm sure will stick with her for a long, long time. Great job again!

Thank you! I love making quilts. Hopefully I can get some time to get back into it soon. :)

Aaaagreed. This world needs more of them, lol.

Aww the quilt is super cute. I love this hue of pink- so soft and comfy. And floral patterns are my absolute favorite. However, I know I'll probably never make a quilt myself- just not into such things but you know never what happens with time.

Thank you! I love all the pinks as well. :) I hope to make some more soon. I just need to figure out who to give it to. ;)

Give me one hahaha ;)

wonderful gift !!!!! great !!

Thank you! I appreciate you stopping by! :)

So pretty in pink! I bet your little niece still loves the little quilt made special by her auntie.

Thanks for stopping by! :) Yes, I hope she still loves it!

Wow, how beautiful!! ♥