You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zhora from Blade Runner - concept art by me

in #art6 years ago

Wow, this looks really nice. I'm happy I stumbled upon your post, I might need to check your other artwork if you have more.

As you're talking about Blade Runner, do you mean the new Blade Runner movie? I haven't seen it and all my BR experiences are limited to the original movie and the game from the past..

Sort:  

Thanks! Yes I mean the original, which was basically the origin of the visual aesthetic called 'cyberpunk', although of course Gibson is credited with inventing the literary genre.
In the near future, an enormous city, half empty but still claustrophobic, constant night and rain, neon lights, androids, Asian influences... Ridley's genius was to mix film noir with sci-fi. The original book wasn't like that, it didn't 'demand' that type of treatment. And then of course we have the genius of Vangelis... :) just like the first Star Wars movie, such a quantum leap of creativity may never be seen again. Funny how almost no one got it at the time.