Monster High Doll Repaint - The Last Unicorn Inspiration

in #art6 years ago

IMG_1649.JPG

Hi there! So as you can see, several months ago I picked up a new hobby - repainting dolls! This doll in particular was inspired by The Last Unicorn's Lady Amalthea. During the movie, the last unicorn in the world is turned into a woman by magic. She was made for my daughter.

IMG_1642.JPG

This doll went over two repaintings before the final version you see here. As a I learned, I went back and redid her twice. Her hair is rerooted and styled. She was a Draculara doll, well-loved by another child in a Goodwill store. She didn't have a jointed doll body, so I ordered one for her. She also had lashes before this pictures, but alas, my daughter lost one in the meantime and opted to just have the other ripped off.

IMG_1650.JPG

The purple of her eyes was painted with a sparkly purple nail polish, for extra pizzaz. The rest was done with acrylic. My next doll I'll have process pictures, but first I had to remove her factory paint using 100% acetone, then removing her head and hair. Using Mr Super Clear UV spray, I sealed her face and subsequent layers.

IMG_1658.JPG

IMG_1639.JPG

The shading, blushing, eyebrows, and lips were done with a combination of watercolour pencils and soft pastels.

IMG_1638.JPG

Her dress was made with 100% cotton and ribbon for the trim at the top.

IMG_1635.JPG

Thanks for looking! Hopefully it won't be too long before I have another doll made!

Sort:  

Looks nice. But that neck is creepy lol.