My painting process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

               Watercolour dog painting process:


Hello all!  I hope the weather is favourable where you are.  Here in Canada where I live we are currently having a snow storm, but that's nothing unusual for us.


Before I start painting I almost aways pre-draw my subject in my sketch book.  That way I can perfect the drawing in my sketch book instead of drawing and erasing on my watercolour paper.  When I'm happy with the sketch, I trace it and then transfer it onto the watercolour paper.



Once my sketch is on the watercolour paper, I decide on the colours.  I do that just by placing colours on a piece of scrap paper and letting them flow and play - one of the best things about painting is playing with colours!

My first layer is always wet on wet - I find that for me, it's easier to paint wet on wet, although most people would probably disagree with me.  

The first layer of this dog went a little rogue, lol!  I didn't think of it as a problem, though, but rather a "happy accident" :)  

I used four colours: dioxazine violet, burnt scarlet, raw sienna, and quinacridone burnt orange.



Started to work on the eyes and nose.



Adding more layers to the face, eyes, and ears.



Almost finish, just some lifting needed for highlights.  



I really like how the first layer in still visible and how it adds interest in the background.



I hope you enjoyed this post!  Feel free to give me feedback.

Thank you for stopping by,

Cheyenne

Sort:  

Nice painting! :) Maybe you'd like my latest post. Its an art contest with a cash prize. Would love if you joined! https://steemit.com/art/@leminhead/christmas-drawing-contest
Cheers!

Cute ,You are very great..😊

Thank you! :)

This is a gorgeous dog @artbycheyenne. I love the final result. And s/he looks like a dog I know in real life!

I went back through your blog and you have some lovely art--you are really talented. I wish I could upvote them for you.

Thank you very much @choogirl! That's neat that he looks like a dog you know!
Ah, that's very kind of you. Thank you again!

This looks amazing!
I work with watercolors as well and I know the struggle it can give you! I think you really made a wonderful painting!

Best wishes and happy creating.
Snekky

Thank you very much! Indeed, they can be tricky, but that's part of the fun! :)

very nice drawing. wish you complet drawing his neck. your drawing is beauitful . head is nice nd his neck make its looks badly. I appercite you efforts and thank you for sharing this beautiful Art.

Thank you for your comment!

This is really awesome, from one artist to another great job!! :)

Thank you, Michael!

Beautiful watercolor painting, @artbycheyenne
Great process as well. Keep it going.

Thank you very much for the encouragement​, @mphil!

You are welcome. :)

Love the way you started it !