Painting Process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

                Watercolour dog painting process:


Hello all!  I'm back with another dog painting process :)

I was pleasantly surprised and SUPER ecstatic when my last post got 90+ upvotes!  OH MY GOODNESS!!!  Thank you all for the support and positive feedback!  I appreciate it so much!

I hope you don't mind me making another dog painting progress post.  I want to improve my pet painting skills so I've been painting more dogs and cats lately.


As always (for portraits) I start off with making a sketch in my sketchbook.  I used a reference photo for the sketch.  I wasn't super happy with the sketch and thought the eyes were too high on the face... so when I was tracing my sketch I just moved the tracing paper up to trace the eyes once I got the face outline done, then transferred it onto my watercolour paper.



First layer.  I chose to paint wet-on-wet so that I can achieve seamless colour transitions and lost edges that often exceed the outline of my subject.  I used alizarin crimson, raw sienna, and manganese blue hue for this painting.



On the second layer I started to work on the eyes, nose/muzzle, and adding definition to the ears.



Third layer.  Continued to work on to the eyes, ears, and nose.  I added more colour to the background, sticking with the three colours I chose.  When you continue the same colours in multiple areas of a painting, it helps with harmony and unity within the piece.



I had added one more layer to the face to build up the shadows and started to darken the eyes.



I didn't like how the eyes looked, so I lifted some of the raw sienna and was happy with the outcome.  By lifting some of the colour from the eyes, I achieved a glassy and more dimensional appearance. 



Added the pupils to the eyes, but I had a hard time getting the right "look"... so I had to do some more lifting and repainting.  Also did some lifting on the chin and fur around the ears.  I just painted a suggestion of the neck because I wanted the focus to be on the face/head.  



Once I was finished, I added some white whiskers with a gel pen.  That white gel pen sure is handy!



I hope you enjoyed this post!  Please feel free to give feedback and/or ask me questions.

Thank you for stopping by,

Cheyenne

Sort:  

You are a genius, I had not seen something like this before, so much that you have wanted to know how to draw and paint like you. What a talent, thank you for sharing your works.

Oh my! Thank you so much, Gabriel! What a special comment​! It truly made my day.
I'm happy that my post has inspired you!
Thank you again.

It is not for nothing. Greetings, we'll see each other.

Congratulations @artbycheyenne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome piece! Watercolor is very difficult to control but that doesn't seem to be a problem you have :D

Thank you! I've come to know watercolour quite well :)