Who is The GOAT? - A Handmade Costume Creation by Franki Zinke

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Goats are those jumpy, flippity, wiggly creatures that love to climb all the things and go about life with a noble sure-footedness. As a totem of mine, I felt creatively inspired to embody this horned ungulate!

"The Goat" is a handmade - homemade theatrical costume which includes a cozy head with a movable jaw, fluffy tail, hoof feet and hoof hands. Legs, arms and torso are in the works (waiting for me in my "things to sew" bin). The eyes are resin-casted and painted with acrylics in a goatly style. There are stuffed faux leather horns (used the material from an old jacket), a polymer clay sculpted jaw/teeth, and pink suede tongue/ mouth lining/ inner ears. The base, or skull, is hand carved (with scissors) couch foam on a plastic batting frame build onto a baseball cap. Eye hole visibility is through black pantyhose material. I used high temperature hot glue and glued the edges of the fur right next to one another, no sewn seams. Though I did sew the tail, hand hooves and horns with a machine. The hoof fingers and hoof parts of the feet would made by friends over here: www.DreamVisionCreations.com . This is the 5th costume head I've created, the first being an Arctic fox with purple ears back when I was a freshie in high school. Most of the materials I use are upcycled fabrics and bits I find at second-hand stores.



These are a few character concept drawings I did:





Progress shots of the costume building in progress:








Thanks for checking out my art~ Stay tuned for more as I get used to this steemy platform :D

Comment below if you have suggestions or requests for a steem post you'd like to see from me!

loves~ Franki Z

Sort:  

Congratulations @artoftheanimal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

VERY well made! Fine sewing art, you should be proud. :)

Thanks for checking it out @smithlabs I do take pride in my work, it is my passion to create art like this :D This mask is a blend of sewing and hot-gluing*

Impressively life like; they are top notch! Do you work from a sketch, or just make what is in your mind? Have you thought about movie props?

I do a bit of both, working from my mind and sketching~ I like to draw out different angles/ views of a creature I have in mind and then begin the construction. Before I get into designing a character, like the goat, I tend to draw up a whole page of goats from photo/life reference to become comfortable with the anatomy.
I have been inspired by movies like Legend and Pan's Labyrinth, and thought I could see myself creating for a full production at some point in my life, possibly even being a part of writing the story line! I have done a few costumes for theatrical and dance productions- including a 9 foot tall puppet.

You will get there, Keep after it, and maybe produce some videos to get out there. Who knows? Sure looks nice. Now all you need is an actor that is worthy onf the costume. :P

Congratulations @artoftheanimal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @artoftheanimal, tribesteemup will no longer be following you as you have been inactive the last few months, please feel free to contact us, if you become active again.

Congratulations @artoftheanimal! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @artoftheanimal! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!