Enjoy The Little Things (And Some “Out-There” Tips On Staying Positive!)

in #art6 years ago

Hey Steemit folks! Happy Tuesday!

Circumstances as of late have quite frankly got me down in the dumps. When I find myself low like this I really have to force some positivity in my day. Being an artist and illustrator, a way for me to do that is create something upbeat and hopefull. Sharing it with others is bonus points.

3C1A9907-895B-415E-96EE-8610F8B257F1.jpeg

Life’s simple pleasures. Don’t take them for granted folks! Enjoy the boring moments, the quiet ones. Your life doesn’t need to be all action packed and unrealistically exciting like how you see on those instagram accounts. Little moments (like a cup of tea) help fill up the empty spaces and make life full.

Staying positive is no easy task. It takes a great deal of effort and internal strength, especially for those with mental illnesses like anxiety and depression. Personally, when I’m in one of my depressive cycles, it can take me weeks or even months to work my way out of it. Some things do help me though and hopefully they can help somebody else out there going through a tough time too.

-Leave positive comments on people’s posts. I’m on social media an awful lot, I confess, so this is particularly convenient for me. Knowing there’s a chance I can make somebody else’s day a little better, even when I feel my lowest is incredibly self empowering.
-Actually forcing yourself to smile. A really big goofy one. I’m not sure about the science on this one, but it helps me feel more in control of a life I feel is out of my control so much of the time.
-Dance. Dance to your favorite music or show tune. Dance to the Spongebob Squarepants theme song as long as you dance like a complete weirdo.. Maybe make sure you’re some place private.

Not everything works for everyone so try reading up on more ways to cope with feelings of sadness and depression. Go to Google or Pinterest or ... bing? Is that a still a thing?

Anywho, I hope everyone out there makes it a great day remember to take care of each other!

As per usual, I created this illustration on my IPad Pro on the Procreate App using my Apple Pencil

96B05424-0306-490C-A0EE-FE9360D6E35E.jpeg

Sort:  

i'm crazy for tea, so this pic is just apt :)
i tend to listen to music, or usually i'd rather turn of social media and watch some nice movie or tv show to divert my mind and relax and unwind.
life has it cycles, we are not always meant to be happy, similarly we are not always meant to be sad. we must fight for our smiles and joys... cheers and good day! :)

Wise words. I like to redirect my attention to other things too. That definitely helps 😌 Thanks for taking the time to stop by!