Modern Ode to Duchamp, or Sticker Attack

in #art7 years ago

20170730_225020-1.jpg

This is a shot of the modern “Da-da” sticker graffiti that I like, in the men’s restroom of my favorite local bar. Liquor brands, company stickers, and band names plastered all over the wall. A piece of art built up over time by multitudes of participants. That is fascinating to me. I saw a lot of it down in Vegas as well, and it’s an interesting urban occurrence. It gives character to otherwise bare walls, which I hate. If you find this disgusting, then fair enough, but Duchamp would be proud of this I think. You should see what he did with a urinal. The story is actually quite humorous to me. A real affront to the old world of fine art, which I can appreciate.

_______________________________________________________

Follow me on Steemit @atomramble

Polite comments, resteems, upvotes, collaborations, and chat conversations are always welcome

Steemit Chat: atomramble | Discord: atomramble | Email: [email protected] | Twitter: atom_ramble

_______________________________________________________

Sort:  

This a great bit work, it tells the story of everyday people doing everyday life at and everyday bar. It's almost got a life of it's own, it grows and changes without premeditated design. A symbol of the culture it came from.
~Mr Dingo

There's a significant amount of commentary in that statement. To me it's a representation of the underground cultures. Disorganized, yet working toward a common goal nonetheless. Imagine what we could get done if we were organized...

A movement we would be. Change the world we could.
Bicker and fight instead we do.
Talk like Yoda unintentionally I do...

Wise words, especially in the tongue of the Great Master Yoda. Unity and purpose we must achieve.

I don't know why but waterfall stickers help me go

Or maybe a leaky faucet sticker? Lol.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by atomramble from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thanks, Mbot.