Peregrine-Original Watercolor

in #art6 years ago

Peregrine.jpg

This 8"x10" watercolor was inspired by my favorite nature account of all time: The Peregrine by J.A. Baker.

I had never truly appreciated the predatory precision of the falcon until reading this harrowing wildlife account of J.A. Baker. Basically, Baker sets out on a journey of desperation to track peregrine falcons around England and the story that unfolds is beautiful and vividly detailed in a way artists can appreciate.

The Peregrine.jpg

Now, every time I spot a falcon or hawk I am mesmerized by the magnificent predator. Have any of you read the book? I had to pay my tribute.

Let me know what you guys think of my art or send me some requests! :)

xo Aus

@originalworks

Sort:  

I like the watercolor, I think what I personally like is that it has a lot of detail but in the places that matter keeping your focus there and the detail gets less almost like with peripheral vision. I wonder though why you decided to cut the tail and wing?

Thank you so much @penderis! haha, so that was sort of a consequence of large scaling and small paper. I was actually going to make this a two piece watercolor so I would have completed the wing on another piece of paper and then ended up liking the way it sort of cuts off because of that exact reaction. Sometimes its good for me not to get overly precious with my art if you know what I mean. This one only took me about an hour and was just going to be for my private collection-- then I discovered Steemit and decided to post. :)

It works because if you think about it if that falcon swoops in on you that is a glimpse you might have before it is gone and you look to see if anyone saw that. Why I actually asked is because in photography I always see people moan about cutting the animal unless it is a portrait.

This definetely paid off as is and works well , great work.

This is a really good painting @ausbutler 😁 the watercolours on the wings flows beautifully and you’ve really captured the bird’s prowling gaze. Good job! 😁