From idea to result: painting forest on the wall

in #art7 years ago (edited)
 Hi, dear readers of my blog! Lately I don't write very often, but today I want to show you the process of my last project — painting the wall in my bedroom.
 When I was a child I liked drawing on the walls. Fortunately, my parents were patient and not only did not forbid me to do this in my room but even suggested to cover the walls with wallpaper backside out (the white side outwards) to make drawing on it easier. So now I've grown up but my fun from drawing on the walls has stayed with me.


 This time the idea for the painting came from my husband. He wanted to have an image of the tree on our bedside. I have chosen a very simple and clean style, restrained from using color and focused on the expression of shapes and lines. Recently I have come to like clean graphics and monochromatic palette. For interior design such solution can become a good basis to which bright accents could be added using textiles and decor. Thus I am planning to enhance the resulting white-gray basis with curtains of ringing light-blue color. But let's start from the beginning.
 Let's see how this wall looked before:
 Pay no attention to my artistic "stuff" in the corner, this is where I store my canvas, paper and frames due to lack of better space for now :) In general we are dealing with an average small wall covered with paintable wallpaper and painted with basic gray color. Well, let's get down to work!

 To make such a simple wall painting I armed myself with quite a limited scope of materials:

  1. White interior paint
  2. Light-colored chalks or pastels (to lay out the contours on the wall)
  3. Long ruler for measuring
  4. A book "Point and Line to Plane" by Kandinsky (in the front) for inspiration :)
  5. Several brushes (absent on the photo)

 At first I made a sketch for the upcoming painting with a pencil on a small sheet of paper. There I contemplated general composition and shape of the lines.

 As seen from the first sketch I was considering a version where an owl is sitting on one of the branches. But then I decided to make it as minimalistic as possible and shifting from the figurative more to the abstract. For me it is not just trees but lines and shapes representing certain energies. Thus I consider that bold vertical rhythmical shapes are translating the energy of steady growth and extending, intersecting parabolas represent expansion. Those are the energies that I believe are important for me and my husband. Thin, willowy, wriggling lines add lightness, life and freshness smoothing the basic shapes of the painting.
 After I finished sketching I started transferring the drawing on the wall using my measurements (numbers on the sketch :) and proportions, correcting and moving elements a little in the process. I used pastel and chalk for drawing contours, it seems to me that they are more practical than a pencil because you can easily erase them with a piece of cloth leaving no trace where it is not needed.

 It wasn't easy to take a picture of thin light contours, so for clarity I will just show you one fragment of the wall.

 After all the contours were ready I just meditatively filled them with white color...


 ... And then I covered it with white color once more for the second layer :)


 This is what turned out as a result:


 It looks more alive and is blending seamlessly in the interior:

 It turned out quite simple but nicely loooking project :)
 I wish you a good day and inspiration in all your works!

Sort:  

it's crazy how a small detail can light and bring a room to life! nice job! :)

Yes! It is easy and amazing transformation )
Thank you!

cool! I also love painting the walls :)

That turned out really well... something very peaceful about it!

Thank you! :)

As I am an interior designer, this has given me a nice concept to apply in my designs. Thanx for sharing it. I will be waiting for more lessons like this from you.

Oh, I am happy to read it! It is nice if it would be usfull for you :)

Now I am offered to paint the wall in yoga classroom. If everything will turn out I surely will make post about the process.

lovely work of art.... it looks cool

Thank you!

it's my pleasure