My Method for Making Glitch Art

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My Method for Making Glitch Art

I have a method for making glitch art that I have not seen anywhere else. @lpfaust tells me it is a category called datamoshing. But I am not really moshing data I am moshing analog video TV signals.

Deja View Frame

I will show you my recording rig, how to make the dual VHS tape and some examples of the art that I have previously displayed on my blog.

The Signal Combiner

The basic idea is to run the output from two playback devices into one TV. In order to combine the signal from two VCR's I used a switch box that I found at Goodwill. It was for Stereo Audio but it works fine for RCA video output.

Radio Shack RCA Switch
Radio Shack Stereo Audio Selector

I opened it and soldered a wire that crossed the signal from two of the inputs. This makes it send two signals through the output.

The Tapes

The glitches I make take two scenes from the same VHS tape and mosh them together. To accomplish this I run a single VHS tape through two VCR's. In retrospect I could have found two copies of the same movie and run them at two different points in the movie. I picked up some old movies at my local Goodwill for a quarter each.

The scenes in "Left Behind" did not really look that interesting. So I used some segments of "Independence Day" to make my glitches.

Dual Tape Deck

To make it I had to open two VHS tapes. I used a hacksaw to make two notches so the tape could come out the back of the tape housing.

Fiction.jpg
I named this shot - Fiction

The Playback Rig

This video shows the rig running. I had to take the covers off the VCR's to allow the tape to run between them. It is very painful to get the system running correctly. You have to start the VCR's at the exact right time to maintain tension on them.

Once it is running I record the images on the TV screen with an iPhone. And end up with this:

Then I take short segments and turn them into animated gifs. The best way I have found for this is to use licecap

Crash Twice Large
Crash Twice Large

See Welcome To Earth Cigar

I also used this same rig to make a video loop with feedback effects in Time and Space Loop

Other Artists

I did find one artist who has done some similar work with looping. Jeremy Daly The videos follow.


If you enjoyed this please vote, resteem and follow me. Thanks

Sort:  

Maynnn. I love your analog data moshing. This is something really unique and iconic!

Thanks it is nice to hear. Steemit has been the first place I have gotten any feedback on it. I need to try and produce more of it. Right now I have my mind set on sculpting a small household god made from red clay. His name will be N-Ra. A god of fertility and war

Interesting films to loop together. Reminds me a bit of the Dark Side of the Moon and Wizard of Oz loops in some way.

Did you notice anything especially synchronic in this? Or was it more of an experiment at chaos in concert?

I only used the tape from Independence Day. I just used Left Behind for its case. The content was worthless to me.
Originally I wanted to make a statement against a very problematic interpretation of Revelation that many people believe. In the end Independance Day just had better visuals.

The way I framed and titled the works speaks to racism in the US. There is a meme that quotes Will Smith as saying "Welcome to Erf". I find this as an artifact of racism where a particular group of people are seen as less intelligent and don't know how to speak. So I titled the segments around the point where he says this "Welcome To Earth"

Like this one "Welcome to Earth - Cigar"

@bardison, thanks for walking me through your process a bit more. Fascinating work.

And I agree with you, belief systems tend to be problematic for central reasons they all tend to cling to in order to exist.

Very interesting, keep it up

ayye this is an interesting idea. 1481099e632c4c166a9f632cfd6c5f87d2942cdd1bb9067707d598c4f589bffa.jpg

Amazing stuff! Thanks a lot for sharing your setup. I really like glitch-art and analog glitches are even more "sexy" ;-)

Thanks I need get a new movie and make some more, but I still want to hook up my Soul Scroll to Steem so people can buy prayers with Steem.

Damn that's trippy today i was wondering where those gifs come from🙏

Glad you like them. I even turned one of my animated gifs into a flip movie. Read about it -> Welcome To Earth Cigar Analog