Why I Am an Artist

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Why I Am an Artist

Future Fear an example of scanography

@spaceginger asked me to write this up as a post for the Steemit Art Register
He asked two questions.

Most common art you blog about?

Mostly my own work and Nam June Paik. My focus is on Electronic Sculpture, Interactive Art, NetArt, Fluxus, Bots, Oscilloscope Animation and music, iPhone photography and scanography. I have also written about and made art inspired by Jane Austin and Margaret Atwood. Some future posts might be about Flannery O'Connor, Willa Cather, George MacDonald and Jacques Ellul. I consider literature and poetry as much as the visual arts. You will see literature and my poetry incorporated into my art. (Typically hidden in QR-codes or other codes within the work.)

efficiency
Efficiency 2 contains video from Nam June Paik's Internet Dweller

Interesting short story about yourself and your artistic passions?

I have been programming and tinkering with computers since my teenage years. I was horrible at drawing and painting. But then I ran across a Nam June Paik work called "Internet Dweller" at a resort.


My first encounter with art by Nam June Paik. The "Internet Dweller"

I incorporated it into one of my sculptures. I studied the work of Paik and found his work interactive, video based but yet physical. He celebrated technology in a playful way but yet also pointed out its flaws. Often we take technology too far. He came up with the term "Electronic Superhighway" as he named one of his sculptures with that title. Do a search for that work.

He also emphasised that anyone could make art or at least interact with it. His work showed me that art does not have to be painting or drawing.

I realized that I could make things like he did. I could use technology to satirize it. I could make something out of technology that had no purpose other than to communicate an abstract idea or just be beautiful.

Computers and programming force us into a binary logic, black and white, right and wrong, 1 and 0. I wanted to find the grey area in technology, the place where humanness can still be found in the middle of the machine.

Making art is also great stress reliever to take my mind off the worries of life and my day job as a programmer.

Sort:  

great post! I followed n upvoted you as well. Hope you do the same!

that's the beauty of computers, isn't it? it's all black and white. but the more bits you have the more shades of gray you get :)

Nam June Paik is a great reference for artists and video-artists too. I studied about his work and fluxus when I was in the art academy.

Hola bardionson! Welcome to Steemit from your favourite Astrologer!
You can send gifts like this from my account https://steemit.com/@horoscopos
This is a welcome gift to Steemit! The Steemit Horoscope is elaborated based on the position of the planets and constellations, so that we interpret how your registration in Steemit will affect the areas of Health, Money, Work, Friendship, Love and luck. We hope you enjoy it and that you will tell us if you have been successful in your case or not:)

Dedicated horoscope for you

FriendsFriends: Complicated. We all love to hear that they love us and love us, especially when that love is sincere. Why don't you try telling your partner more often?

loveLove: Complicated. The Sun is in conflict with your natal Moon: You have a tendency to be unpleasant It's not that you're too pleasant for those around you: you should try not to prolong this situation too much, if you're not going to be alone enough.

money*Money:.

healthHealth: Complicated. Sometimes a chipped tooth can cause immense pain. Don't let that chopped tooth you've had for a long time go further and fill it up.

LuckyLuck: Complicated. There's not a lot of changes in your work, everything stays stable. Of course, you must be more careful today, because luck doesn't come with you at all.

WorkWork: Complicated. Mercury is in harmony with your native Venus: Your sense of caution is especially appreciated today. You should take advantage of this to negotiate your contract, since you have a great capacity for dialogue right now.

Welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here and keep posting. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bard ionson from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great! you are upvoted!