Host - oil on board 2016

in #art6 years ago

This painting was part of a body of work I did for my 2016 solo exhibition "The Muck & The Mire". The themes I was exploring in this show were around primal fears and modern anxieties.

'Host'-41cm-x-51cm-Oil-on-panel-Sold.jpg
"Host" oil on board 2016

beauwhiteHost-Detail.jpg
Detail of Host

Giant leeches featured in a number of the pieces as symbols of fear. Phobias and anxiety as a parasitic entity that attaches to us or that we carry as a host.
I was terrified of leeches as a child. I lived in the country and going swimming in a dam or creek always brought with it the possibility of coming in contact with leeches. It wasn't the reality that was frightening, I think it was the idea of these creatures lurking in the depths waiting to feed off of me that freaked me out.
Now I think that leeches are quite beautiful.
The leech in "Host" is a sculpture I made from Super Sculpey which my wonderful partner Isabel 'modelled' for the reference photo.

Sort:  

Wow amazing painting! Love it. Can't wait to see more of your art :)

upvoted, resteemed and following!

Scary beautiful! :)

You made that leech super awesome looking, which I really like, since it's only a painting. I would be scared of course, if I've seen it in real.

It's interesting that the person doesn't seem to mind their state of being anymore, I guess they're too far gone already? D:

-upvoted-

This is a beautiful painting with exceptional detail! The theme is spot on, too. I have generalized anxiety disorder, and on particularly stressful, fear-filled days, I definitely end up feeling emotionally and mentally drained.

Wonderful work and concept, I look forward to seeing more!

gahhh holy hell lol

Holy s***! that is impressive! So realistic.

Wow! Your art is so thought provoking not just skilled. Feel like I am reading Notes from the Underground just from seeing your art :-)

Amazing painting. I would love to see step by step process of your artworks. Steem on. ;)

Wow. this is hyper realistic ART. I was scared at first but looking closer made me realise it's an Art. Welldone Boss, your msg on fear and anxiety is well written.

I've picked off leeches almost as big as that up in the rainforest. Then wound just won't stop bleeding.

@ leoplaw leeches secrete an enzyme into the wound that stops blood from clotting to facilitate their blood sucking. An old remedy to stem the bleeding is to put ground pepper on the wound, or put another leech on it ;)

Hmmm... pepper, hadn't heard of that. Leeches love my ankles.

lovely place, what else you got down under? Cute and cuddly vampire koalas? That would be a subject for a painting, lol

Those vampire koalas that like to cuddle are called Drop Bears. Be wary when walking through the Australian bush at night.

ah yes, I remember it now, Leo, you told me all about it once before, maybe that is why I thought of it!

found you via Beinart - great work!
following - upvoted - resteemed - shared on Facebook

Terrifying and beautiful.

Mostly it's the idea and not the reality that scares us.
Creative, eye catching work.