The Boar Rider - Old Pastel video slideshow

in #art5 years ago

Hello Steemians!

As I was - unsuccessfully - seeking for old intermediary steps pictures of a painting I'm currently working on, I stumbled upon an old video I didn't even remember that I made it.

It's a 2011 work in progress steps slideshow of a pastel that made me struggle like hell back then. It also made me learn a bunch of things.

Even if the video quality is very crappy, I was pretty amazed to see again all the steps by with this pastel ran through.

It clearly shows that the whole thing was an unprepared work, in full direct painting mode, with no clear idea of what I was aiming at. That was just like rushing on the paper as that brainless charging boar, although I tried to gather as many little knowledge bits I could as I had to deal with the unavoidable problems this approach always involves :)

Here's the small crappy vid (sorry for the quality, really. I didn't have any decent computer for video editing by then :) )

Music is The Pride Of Pimlico, performed by The Broken Legs. an Italian Celtic music group I've discovered on a copyright free music platform back then.

I tried to dig in my old pastels, and found the original pastel again... Unfortunately very damaged.

Time has done its job and has hit hard.

Anyways, That's all for this short post,

I wish you a nice week end, my dear friends !

Sort:  

Congratulations @berien! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.