Messages to Melina : How Kafka remained so black in love!!!!

in #art6 years ago

Franz Kafka (1883-1924) was a Czech writer, born in Prague to a middle-class German-speaking Jewish family. He is one of the best German writers in the art of novel and news. His life lived desperately hopeless and hopeless in everything. But the best years of his life, he says, is when you get to know Melina and start exchanging messages.
His letters to her were collected in Letters to Melina, while all her letters were lost; a formidable loss and interruption of these singular messages between two disturbing minds. In this article we present the content of this debate between this great writer and his special passion Melina, who could not end happy ending.

**Kafka: The wretched torturer.

Herman, Kafka's father, was a businessman who was described as tyrant and despot, and disapproved of his son's behavior through literature and writing. Kafka wrote him a long letter entitled "A Message to the Father," in which he broadcast all his feelings and suffering he had experienced with him since his childhood, but he did not send them to him. This message is one of the most important approaches to a deeper understanding of Kafka's character. In his letters to Melina, Kafka talks about this message:
« What I hide and my eyes open wide, after I have sunk into the depths of my fear, unable even to try to escape, is the conspiracy that is in me against myself, that plot alone is what I fear, and this is what you will understand more clearly after reading my letter to my father, You will not fully understand this, however, because that message has been very carefully targeted. »

His father was also moody, and often directed his anger at his son Kafka; which has had a bad effect on him since his early childhood, which is manifested in his intense fear and frustration at the same time for the school - as Melina tells him in one of his letters to her - His self-deprecation and humiliation, and the feeling of sadness and depression that accompanied him throughout his life.
His social life was not going well; he had been engaged twice (or three times rather, twice a girl had spoken to her) but every time he broke the contract, perhaps because of his anxiety and illness. It is generally agreed that Kafka suffered from clinical depression and social anxiety throughout his life. He also suffered from migraines, insomnia and other diseases that usually come from stress and excessive stress. This is the same reason that later prevented him - in addition to other reasons - from Milena's visit to Vienna (but he later visited despite the many complications and exhaustion caused by travel).

***A meeting at the cafe.

At the beginning of autumn in September 1919, in a cafe in Prague, the first meeting between Franz Kafka and the young Melina Yzinska, where she suggested that he directly translate his work from his German into the Czech language, was an extension of it, Kafka »Another wandering the streets of Vienna.

After meeting them starting with correspondence. Kafka wrote nearly 149 letters and postcards. 140 of which were written within a period of no more than 10 months, from March to December 1920, sometimes up to more than one message per day. The late letters date back to 1922 and 1923.

Melina was characterized by many advantages. At that time she was a young married woman educated at the beginning of her career as a journalist and writer of stories and translated, and moreover Christian, which was considered by Kafka Jewish problem burdened with psychological complications, and this is evident in his contempt for himself because he is Jewish despite knowing that This is not a big problem for Melina (her husband being a Jew), but a problem for himself, and in addition to his concern, he confines himself to everything, let alone the love he has earned in his heart that no one else likes, including himself .
« Milena, you are for me, not a woman, you are a girl, a girl I've never seen before, I do not think I'm going to dare give you my hands, girl, that polluted, shaky, trembling hand that turns hot and cold. You know, Melina, when you go to him (her husband means) you're going a big step down for your level, but if you step into me you'll be in the abyss, do you realize that? ».

It may appear that this method of degrade is only a falsification, as if it were diminished when it received praise (as was the case with Dostoyevsky, for example), but for him, this feeling of lack of others and self-deprecating and degraded and real, He wrote to Melina in one of his letters explaining it to her.

**From happy lover to desperate lover.

As we read Kafka's messages that have reached us, we find a remarkable gradation in the intensity of emotions and their tendency to cool with each new message. At first, Kafka feels a strange sense of relief - strange to those who are in his misery and anxiety to feel him - he is perhaps for the first time all his sorrows and refreshed tired spirit despite his physical illness.
« Now the rain that has lasted two days and nights has been cut off, although its interruption may only last for a moment, but it is nevertheless a worthy event to celebrate, and that is what I write to you. I live here in good condition, and my body can not take more care. The balcony of my room overlooks a garden surrounded by walls, where flowering shrubs thrive, and the balcony of the room is exposed to the sun. The lizards, birds and various kinds of objects visit me in the room. A strong desire to be here. ».
Unlike the regular messages sent to check on someone or to tell something, Kafka did not write his letters for this purpose and not for that, but was intent on transferring the events of his day literally to Melina, sharing his feelings as if they shared the same place, It is expressed in more than once.
« What shape did that apartment write to me on Saturday? Are they spacious and free? are you alone? Day and night? This must be really sad. Despite the smallness of my room, our real Melina, the one that Ziltek explicitly said on Saturday, is here with me, and believe me it is very wonderful, to be with her. It would be a lie to me if I say I miss you, it is the full, painful magic, you are here as I am here, if you are more certain than I am, you are where I am, my presence as my body, ».
« I am only shivering under the weight of the attack, and I am tormented myself to the point of madness. In fact, my life, my existence, consists of this inferior threat. If this threat stops, my presence will also cease. It is my way of participating in life. If this threat stops, I will leave life as easily and naturally as possible. ».
Love of another kind.
In Kafka's letters there is a love of a strange and rare kind. It is this that makes you discover yourself, and you see it as it is, as if you have stood in a mirror, and this kind of love is a double-edged sword. You have the privilege of discovering in yourself what you did not know before , At the same time manifest your defects in front of you are all clear, in contrast to the qualities of the other finite beauty.
« I live in my ignorance, that is what concerns me, but to drag you into it too is completely different. The annoying thing is rather far away, because through you I become more aware of my own excitements, and through my consciousness, salvation becomes much more difficult. ».
These unique Kafka letters reveal to us the metal of this lover, who did not pass the temple of women as his predecessors passed and his successor of lovers, was a unique private case. Although the ending seems familiar in such stories, but its events were not ordinary and familiar, being woven by a strange person, loving, miserable, collecting contradictions in his personality, leaving us exquisite messages that we enjoy reading today !.

Sort:  

Congratulations @brahimlah! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @brahimlah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!