A Look At The Tommy "Hitman" Hearns NFT Collection; Featuring Art by Me!

in #art3 years ago (edited)

hearns_hive01.png


Over the past couple months I had the privilege of contributing five illustrations to The Tommy "Hitman" Hearns NFT Collection. The set was launched this past Wednesday so I can at last share a bit of the work I've done and help promote the release a bit!


hearns_hive02.png


For more official information (and to purchase!) you can check out the official website. The set was a product of FanFavz in collaboration with Facings.

I was excited to work on this project as I am a boxing fan and was familiar with Tommy's legacy, but if you're not too familiar with him here's a great summary from the official site.

Legendary boxer, Tommy Hearns, the first boxer in history to win five world titles in five different weight classes, releases his most iconic moments in boxing history!
Get into the ring with The Hitman:
never-before-seen photos from Tommy's personal collection,
illustrations of legendary moments from his career,
audio commentary from one of professional boxing's greats.
The Hall of Famer, who competed from 1977 to 2006, became the first boxer in history to win world titles in four divisions. Hearns was Ring Magazine's Fighter of the Year in 1980 and 1984 and is best known for his fights with Sugar Ray Leonard, Marvin Hagler, and Roberto Durán.



hearns_hive03b.png


It can be difficult to choose between your "children"... but I think the above image is probably my favorite that I contributed.


hearns_hive04.PNG


With all of the illustrations I was able to experiment with new techniques and practice my skills, and that's one of the most important aspects of freelance work to me at this point in my career.

I was very grateful with how well received my work was. It's been featured prominently in the advertising and packaging. However the NFT's of my illustrations are actually quite rare, dropping with only a .5% probability per card! Since it is very easy to open a pack and not receive an illustrated piece (the bulk of the set is photos from Tommy's personal archives) the team decided to include a bonus card in every pack that showcases the art. The card was designed by @kommienezuspadt and is entitled "Gratitude" as a little gift to the fans, but I'm probably the person most grateful for its inclusion!


hearns_hive05.JPG


If you have any questions about the set I'd be more than happy to answer, just drop a comment below! I do plan to circle back later this week for another post on this focusing a bit more on the "making of" with some pencil stages and behind the scenes commentary, so stay tuned!

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me for more behind the scenes looks at the creation of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Your votes help support its production! Also look for limited edition digital artwork for sale on NFTShowroom.com

Showroom.png

Sort:  

This is amazing! Congrats man, the illustrations look great and what cool experience to have some rare trading cards of your own.

Thanks @prolificpixels! I don't think I got a notification on this comment so sorry for the late reply! I'd like to have a few of my own pieces in my personal NFT collection too, but they're so rare I'm not sure if I'll get my hands on them! 😆
We've gotta get together soon and catch up!

Haha! I didn't think about that. Yeah man, we totally need to get together. I'll text you soon.

That's really nice work. Good to see you are busy being creative.

!PIZZA

Thanks @steevc, much appreciated! As we move into the winter here I'll definitely be dedicating more time to my own comic and personal projects which should generate a lot more to show here!

Well done @bryan-imhoff and continually fascinated by nft and our digital art world. I think 2022 is going to be a deep dive into for me it's just always so intriguing. I can't recall which platform has the virtual gallery where one can walk about and see their work and others on virtual gallery walls.
I'm going to check out your latest in the NFT showroom.

I think @juliakponsford once helped me with getting the key or what you need when you go to the site...so many things to add to the 'studio list'

Again, wonderful work and well done.

It's absolutely a whole 'nother layer to learn! With projects like this I'm not doing any of the heavy lifting of generating the NFT set etc, I'm just a hired pencil and I don't mind! I'm glad you've been posting regularly again. I always check it out even if I don't take the moment to comment, so thank you much for commenting here, I'll try to be a better "neighbor!"

no worries I'm the same, I'm still trying to find all the 'ole crew' from steemit days. You'd think i'd have an easy list pinned on the computer, but far too scattered for that, must be sorted in my 'artist bit' of the brain which tends to set things down and forget lol. @bryan-imhoff

Damn!!! You're super creative, this is worth buying as NFTs not the punks or a single line sketch.

Thanks so much! I'm with you that I still gravitate toward more illustrative work in NFTs and art in general... but I see Punks and the various other NFTs as the digital equivalent of the modern art scene in the physical world, so to each his own!

You're very welcome!

but I see Punks and the various other NFTs as the digital equivalent of the modern art scene in the physical world, so to each his own!

Okay!

Congratulations @bryan-imhoff! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 46000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 47000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(1/10) tipped @bryan-imhoff (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.