I'm Going Full Time Creator...

in #art3 years ago

That's it, I've finally cracked. I put in two weeks notice at my job and after April 9th I will officially be a full time artist/illustrator/comiccreator/blogger/whateverittakes...

2020 was an incredibly difficult year for me as it was for many. In its aftermath I've been left with some burnout, depression, anxiety, and just overall reevaluating my life in general.

My day job has always been a big drain on me. It's a direct customer service job. I'm good at it. I handle my interactions with people well and go out of my way to be helpful because 1.) I'm a people pleaser, and 2.) I have a pretty solid work ethic and providing good service is really the entire point of the job, so I just can't ease up or back off and feel good about it or myself. As someone who is much more of a natural introvert, the inevitable endgame of my daily shifts is that I come home completely drained, exhausted, and nearly comatose... rinse, repeat.

I finally hit my breaking point and decided I need to make some big changes in life. There was no one thing, no Aha! moment or rude customer that caused me to flat out turn around and walk out. It just took time for me to build up the courage to step outside my comfort zone... which of course had already become unbearably uncomfortable. Feeling like I was heading for a complete breakdown, it only makes sense to manage that in as positive a direction as possible. Tapping into my savings and living lean, I know that I can get through 6-12 months with no additional income, so that's my initial runway to take off into a sustainable career.

It's funny how once you make a decision the universe sends you signals. More likely it's just me grasping at any scraps of "proof" that I made the right choice and things are going to turn out okay.

The day after I gave my resignation the latest pump in Hive price started. That helps add a bit of confidence! As I popped open my YouTube app I'm greeted with videos like "How I Became a Full Time Artist in 6 Months." Alright, I'll take that as another sign. And the big indicator that it was meant to be... the laundry room at my apartment building just got new machines that allow me to pay with my phone instead of quarters!!! I no longer need to break my bills for change in the register drawer at work to feed the washer and dryer! That's gotta be a sign that I'm doing the right thing... right? (Am I grasping too much here?) 😬

Whatever happens I needed the change, and at worst I'll return to the working world with no excuses. I've always said "If I didn't have this damn job taking all my time and energy, I could do it!" Now if I don't get it done, I've just gotta admit it's all on me, and maybe I just don't have what it takes. But... we're gonna find out together! Because believe me, I'll be on Hive a decent amount more sharing (and monetizing!) 😆 every step of the journey.


IMG_5607.jpeg


I'm enthusiastically terrified. Last night I gave up on trying to get to sleep and just dusted off my "Art Harder Mother Fucker" mug, and grabbed a couple big sheets of paper and a marker and started planning the future to come.

I'll be actively seeking freelance jobs and paid commissions, but I hope to make the core of my earnings centered around simply creating what I want to create, and working on my comic, "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." I have high hopes that Hive, NFTs and Crypto in general will play a big part and really help facilitate that. However I'm not one of those folks who quits their day job to go full time Hive, (or Steem if it was the bull run of 2017). I know that can be very fickle and I'll be reaching for every traditional and non traditional revenue stream I can find.

So that's it, I'm a bit over a week away from my dream job. The starting pay is a bit low, but if I work my ass off the sky is the limit! Follow along with my journey here, and if you have any words of advice and encouragement, or any hot leads on illustration jobs... I hope to see you in the comment section!

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me for more behind the scenes looks at the creation of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Your votes help support its production! Also look for limited edition digital artwork for sale on NFTShowroom.com

Showroom.png

Sort:  

I quit my job almost 6 years ago and haven’t looked back. Being freed of the golden handcuffs allowed me to explore many things, all leading to personal freedom, time, control, happiness and never feeling like I’ve worked since. It also gave me the bandwidth and desire to explore alternative niches, like crypto. NFT art is up your alley and you can capitalize huge if you get the right connections. Moral of the story is that you just needed to take this big leap of faith in pursuit of more happiness, and you’re now in control. It’ll take time, but everything you do now is for you, and not for someone else to make money off of you in exchange for your time.

Also, you sometimes have to give up who you were for what you’re going to be. Insanity is also doing the same thing over and over, and expecting different results. The palette is blank now. It’s time to focus on serving yourself and benefiting from that emotionally, and ultimately financially. Each day is a gift now.

Couldn't have said any of it better myself... and of course, when I tell myself all these things I just think I'm crazy and don't really believe it sometimes! 😬

Seriously though, thanks for the kind words of encouragement, it's great to hear the support and logic from an outside perspective. I've always been amazed and inspired by your lifestyle and pursuits so I know you understand. I'm excited to see where I'm at in 6 years!

Dude! I am so excited for you reading this. You are a brave dude and very talented. You are a very hard worker. I have seen your work ethic in action and I know you have it in you to achieve success. I'll be watching closely and can't wait to support how I can.

Aww man, thanks for all the kind words and the Hive tip to boot! I'll take every penny I can get as I explore this new world of "starving artistry!" 😜

Whoa, dude. That's really awesome!

The great thing about this decision is that all the crappy, unfulfilling, soul-sucking jobs will still be there if things don't work out like you want.

But now...NOW...you can roll up your sleeves and make stuff happen. Stuff that you otherwise wouldn't be able to do. It's a brave choice. Most people don't have the guts to do what you're doing.

What's great is that it's a win/win any way you look at it. Spend more time doing what you love for the next 6 months...or...spend more time doing what you love for the rest of your life. Either outcome is worthwhile.

Living a Life without regrets. That's the dream, man.

I'm rootin' for ya.

Thanks so much @nateaguila! I don't know that I'd have the motivation or confidence to do this without having Hive and the community here as my first step up on the ladder. And yep, those soul-sucking jobs will still be out there! I think after my first couple weeks of freedom, I will be extremely motivated to succeed so that I never have to go back.

This is so relatable to me, working in retail and holding my tongue with rude customers while thinking "I could be doing so much on my art instead of dealing with this person treating me like crap" - recent situation in UK means I'm still in lockdown, hence my recent progress artwise. But the shop's reopening next month and I'm definitely weighing my options. Your plan is the bold move I daydream of doing and I wish all the luck to you (I'm confident you'll fine, just got to keep a focused attitude)

It's always been the plan/dream that I could work on art on the side, thereby building a side hustle/career that would eventually take the place of the day job... In practice that just doesn't happen due to the loss of time and especially energy! So this is the nuclear option! We'll see how it goes! I was an "essential" worker and worked consistently through the pandemic to date. Definitely do your best to turn the hardships here into a positive and make the most of your lockdown time!

Good for you! I really hope it works out and that Hive can play a part in your income. Posts can make a lot more now. Looking forward to seeing some new art.

!LUV

This decade belongs to Creator economy

Wow @bryan-imhoff, this is really sweet.

I can feel your enthusiasm, excitement and apprehension through out this write-up. Just be rest assured that these feelings are normal when we've just made a big decision of this sort. Also humans usually seek the security of 9-5 kind of jobs but we trade off a lot for that: our time, energy and longing for something more engaging/fulfilling. This trade of doesn't usually give us a happier life, we're supposed to be doing what we love and what makes us happy. That's the ultimate goal, and no matter what you'd be happier you tried this. It's most likely to work out fine for you because you're really good at what you do, I've seen your art.

Thanks @nevies, that means a lot. Your sentiments are exactly my thoughts, and I finally realized that there's no better moment than now to get started!

!LUV

Get it done! I will definitely be watching this space and following along.

Thanks @jackofcrows! I have a feeling you never truly get it done when it comes to freelancing... you just keep pushing back the date at which you need to get a "real job" and if you're successful you push it back until you're dead! 😵

Thanks so much for picking up an edition of "Always Growing" @jackofcrows, it's much appreciated!

Np! I’d been wanting to do so but was just waiting for a moment to shuffle around some things. Keep at it!

I wish you the best of luck! You never know what your future holds. Just be creative and have fun and you will find ways to make a living.

Thanks @domgreg, I'm already finding that to be true. It's amazing how things seem to be opening up to me just since deciding to make the leap. I feel a bit like Indiana Jones...

leapoffaith.gif

man, I'm right there with you - I'm about ready to put my two weeks in tomorrow. Seriously. It would make life so much better - congrats for taking the plunge.

On the one hand it's something I highly recommend to everyone! However I realize I'm in a different position than most as I don't have any immediate family to consider and support, so I can afford to be risky with myself!

It's good that you are taking the risk to get out of your comfort zone and fight for your dreams, my colleague. You have to work hard and stay on your path, little by little you will achieve results, you just have to be consistent and disciplined, that's the key to success. Best wishes to you colleague, work hard and we will be here supporting you 💪.

I appreciate the support @gamesforyou! I will do my best to work harder than ever and share much of it along the way right here on Hive!

Way to go buddy! I'll gladly keep an eye out for your work 💪.

Amazing! I’m 100% a fan of this kind of thing. Quit doing what makes you unhappy do what you’re good at. Well done for taking the leap. You’ll be absolutely fine!

I don’t know your account but I’ll give you a follow and support your posts :)

I appreciate the vote of confidence @ashtv and I know that fellow creatives wholeheartedly understand what I'm going through.

Good luck 😉

You sold me with the title. :) !LUV 1

Good luck by nestedneons and discovery!
!discovery nest

Hey @bryan-imhoff, you were just shared some LUV. :) With at least 5 LUV in your wallet, you can give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmZosc5B9VvqHJs1xVbLoxxGGc6BfmwJukG1dAr3J6PBLX

Hey @bryan-imhoff, you were just shared some LUV. :) With at least 5 LUV in your wallet, you can give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmZosc5B9VvqHJs1xVbLoxxGGc6BfmwJukG1dAr3J6PBLX




This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of Discovery-it in collaboration with Nestedneons community.
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

What what missed the announcement!

It's been 18 days already. Congrats on making this step out in the unknown. I'm sure it'll be for the best. No reward without some sort of risk right?

Last year I went from guest relations in a hotel to web developer in a startup. I'm glad I left the angry guests behind me and moved further more into technology. So I get the feeling of wanting some change.

I have high hope for your future seeing how talented you are. I'll be following along for sure. ;-)

Don't worry, it took me 23 days to reply to your reply so you beat me! 😆

Thanks so much for all the support and encouragement @jrej! Your work ethic has always been an inspiration.