Goblin Shark Abominations & Dragonfish Mutations

in #art3 years ago

Most of my recent deep sea creature studies have been relatively faithful to life. Not so with these :)

I shared a dragonfish in my first post in this series. It was just the head and a small curve of the body, seen from the side. I painted on top of that and turned it into this made-up deep sea creature:

image.png

I do not know what is up with those weird seal flippers LOL

For reference here is the original dragonfish image I mutated into the above:

image.png

I made some variants:

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png
Hold on I think the dragonfish ate my peyote buttons

And now the Goblin Shark Grotesquery

I worked from a goblin shark reference photo but drew a four eyed vertical mouthed tentacle tongued monstrosity. I was still using the same basic technique of trying to capture the variation in texture and color from the reference photo, and then running my quick painting through AI DeepStyle (deepdreamgenerator.com / DeepStyle V.2 ) using the reference photo as the style image.

This image is three generations in to the process of quick painting / AI DeepStyle run, painting on top, another AI run, etc. I don't have process shots for this part unfortunately, I had a hard drive crash and lost a fair amount of art (everything I hadn't posted online I lost basically, 3 months of art). Don't worry, I have 2 automatic backups running now LOL.

image.png

Then I made it weirder with layers of AI style transfer from octopus & brittle star flesh.

image.png

This bad boy went through many iterations before arriving at the above state. Some other monstrosities:

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Say hello to my little friend. You can call it "Fluffy".

image.png

Bonus NFT Action

As a special treat, I cooked up NFTs from three of the images in this post at NFTshowroom.com. Click on the images to find my art listed for the low low price of 25 Hive each for these 1/1s, straight from the midnight zone.

Goblin Shark Mutation
image.png

Dragonfish Mutation
image.png

Dragonfish Mutation II - Attack of the Peyote Buttons
image.png

Sort:  

Wow you got some pretty incredible skills there thank you very much for posting this.

Me and my puppy say thank you and it's nice seeing you posting.

Thanks dude - I'm not posting super regularly but this is a good place to record my art process for posterity :) Blaze one up for me

Absolutely and I hope you have a beautiful day!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I hope these abominations won't visit me in my dreams ;<)

Cool stuff, buddy!